HM4330 Error - Failed to bind to IP address

Use this forum if you have installed hMailServer and want to ask a question related to a production release of hMailServer. Before posting, please read the troubleshooting guide. A large part of all reported issues are already described in detail here.
Post Reply
willhoy
New user
New user
Posts: 2
Joined: 2009-08-26 15:30

HM4330 Error - Failed to bind to IP address

Post by willhoy » 2009-08-26 15:45

Hello all,

I am getting the following error when trying to send from hMailServer:

"ERROR" 2896 "2009-08-26 09:37:31.013" "Severity: 3 (Medium), Code: HM4330, Source: TCPConnection::Connect, Description: Failed to bind to IP address 75.117.158.125. Remote IP: , Error code: 10049, Message: The requested address is not valid in its context"

Additional Info:

Local Host Name: mail.biofreeze-news.com

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8001/8003/8010 PCI Gigab
it Ethernet Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-**-**-**-**
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 172.16.0.10
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 172.16.0.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 172.16.0.1
166.102.165.13


Any help would be appreciated.

User avatar
sheffters
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 453
Joined: 2009-07-01 20:46
Contact:

Re: HM4330 Error - Failed to bind to IP address

Post by sheffters » 2009-08-26 15:50

your ip is 172.16.0.10 yet your trying to bind to 75.117.158.125 ... ?

binding is for multiple local ip's so services dont conflict ... if you have only 1 local ip then you dont need to bind.

your router / firewall should forward from 75.117.158.125 to local ip 172.16.0.10.

the 75.117.158.125 doesnt exist on the local machine so hmail cant bind to it.

S.

willhoy
New user
New user
Posts: 2
Joined: 2009-08-26 15:30

Re: HM4330 Error - Failed to bind to IP address

Post by willhoy » 2009-08-26 15:59

Sometimes, it just takes a great mind.

Thank you for your help... changed the "bind to" ip to the local and all is well.

One of those problems thats just too obvious. Step 1, is it plugged in...

User avatar
sheffters
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 453
Joined: 2009-07-01 20:46
Contact:

Re: HM4330 Error - Failed to bind to IP address

Post by sheffters » 2009-08-26 17:37

haha ... always the simple ones that catch ya :)

S.

Post Reply