Raspberry Pi

Forum for things that doesn't really have anything to do with hMailServer. Such as php.ini, beer, etc etc.
RvdH
Senior user
Senior user

Raspberry Pi

Post by RvdH » 2020-04-08 23:42

Got myself a raspberry Pi (older model, Pi 3 Model B+ rev 1.3)
Basically i purchased it only because i needed a ARM box to flash a USB external device and no other then a ARM flasher was available

Since we are still in lockdown i started playing with it a bit, installed pi-hole (Network-wide Ad Blocking) which basically acts as DNS server for your whole LAN, this works really great and that made me wonder...

Could and has anyone tried to run a raspberry Pi to, be used & is it powerful enough to?
  • Run SpamAssassin
  • Run ClamAV
All in mind to run it, this should be self explanatory, in combination with hMailServer on a Windows box
CIDR to RegEx: d-fault.nl/cidrtoregex
DNS Lookup: d-fault.nl/dnstools
DKIM Generator: d-fault.nl/dkimgenerator
DNSBL Lookup: d-fault.nl/dnsbllookup
GEOIP Lookup: d-fault.nl/geoiplookup

RvdH
Senior user
Senior user

Re: Raspberry Pi

Post by RvdH » 2020-04-08 23:48

Update, ClamAV runs and can be used from within hMailServer, but troublesome...it's a to big resource monster (signatures loading in memory) for the Pi, it consumes more then 90% of the available memory which has resulted in quite a few freezes when trying...

So i would say ClamAV is a no go, at least on the Raspberry Pi 3b+ or earlier versions with limited memory... maybe on a Pi 4b with >1GB memory, the Pi 4b is available in options on installed memory, 1GB, 2GB or 4GB

My first attempt to get SpamAssassin running failed, but i might try that again, as i found another tutorial that is quite different as the one i used the first time

Dravion
Senior user
Senior user

Post by Dravion » 2020-04-09 04:06

I run allmost the same PI as Standard Gateway Router and Bind9 DNS-Server with Raspian.

Works ok, but i disabled the GUI because its not needed.