Using external Spamassassin

Forum for things that doesn't really have anything to do with hMailServer. Such as php.ini, beer, etc etc.
Post Reply
bescher
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 123
Joined: 2008-05-26 01:56
Location: Milwaukee Wi
Contact:

Using external Spamassassin

Post by bescher » 2009-12-05 12:27

I have spamassassin set up om a win 2003 server and is working well on my primary mail server. I want to use it on my secondary server as well (both are running hmail) but when I tell Hmail to use spamassassin and I point it to the server that has it running (at spamd is running ) it always tells me it can't connect. What part am I not running (using the standard port)

^DooM^
Site Admin
Posts: 13861
Joined: 2005-07-29 16:18
Location: UK

Re: Using external Spamassassin

Post by ^DooM^ » 2009-12-05 13:14

by default spam assassin will only allow local connections (127.0.0.1)
If at first you don't succeed, bomb disposal probably isn't for you! ヅ

bescher
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 123
Joined: 2008-05-26 01:56
Location: Milwaukee Wi
Contact:

Re: Using external Spamassassin

Post by bescher » 2009-12-05 17:52

I tried reading through the SA doc's
Isn't there a way to allow it and where do I change it

Thanks Doom

^DooM^
Site Admin
Posts: 13861
Joined: 2005-07-29 16:18
Location: UK

Re: Using external Spamassassin

Post by ^DooM^ » 2009-12-06 03:07

as horndog shows. it is a command line switch. Read the SA docs.
If at first you don't succeed, bomb disposal probably isn't for you! ヅ

bescher
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 123
Joined: 2008-05-26 01:56
Location: Milwaukee Wi
Contact:

Re: Using external Spamassassin

Post by bescher » 2009-12-06 17:40

I read the Docs, I installed the program suggest and it works just fine. But it will still not connect. I have been SA for 3 years uding it with Ewall with no issues and was happy with it. I stopped the ewall filters and even tried to connect on the local machine with no luck. Just says it cannot connect to server. So not only will remote hmail servers not connect to SA but the hmail server on the same machine will not connect to it as well. Ewall runs fine with it. But agina I need to add the remote systems

Any other suggestions please

Thanks

^DooM^
Site Admin
Posts: 13861
Joined: 2005-07-29 16:18
Location: UK

Re: Using external Spamassassin

Post by ^DooM^ » 2009-12-06 19:37

http://spamassassin.apache.org/full/3.0 ... spamd.html

Code: Select all

-A host,..., --allowed-ips=..,..   Limit ip addresses which can connect
If at first you don't succeed, bomb disposal probably isn't for you! ヅ

bescher
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 123
Joined: 2008-05-26 01:56
Location: Milwaukee Wi
Contact:

Re: Using external Spamassassin

Post by bescher » 2009-12-06 19:45

Yeah Horndog that was part of my district. I worked out of Crystal Lake, Bloomingdale then up to Brookfield where I was in charge of the stores up here as well as the upper Illinois area. The District Manager worked out of Vernon Hills but he spent his time down in the city. (he lived there) while he made me do all the driving

Doom will try that as well
Thanks

^DooM^
Site Admin
Posts: 13861
Joined: 2005-07-29 16:18
Location: UK

Re: Using external Spamassassin

Post by ^DooM^ » 2009-12-07 01:09

bescher wrote:Doom will try that as well
That is what i told you to do last time although you assured us you had read the docs...
^DooM^ wrote:by default spam assassin will only allow local connections (127.0.0.1)
^DooM^ wrote:it is a command line switch. Read the SA docs.
bescher wrote:I read the Docs, I installed the program suggest and it works just fine. But it will still not connect. ~~~~ Any other suggestions please
If at first you don't succeed, bomb disposal probably isn't for you! ヅ

Post Reply