"old" Servers to be put in production again

Forum for things that doesn't really have anything to do with hMailServer. Such as php.ini, beer, etc etc.
Post Reply
User avatar
maggiore81
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 171
Joined: 2008-01-11 16:02
Location: near Ravenna (Italy)
Contact:

"old" Servers to be put in production again

Post by maggiore81 » 2009-04-28 11:27

Hello
I have on hand a lot of "old" servers from Dell.
Since I personally don't think that these machines are old, I use it still now.

I speak about Dell PowerEdge 2550:

2xPentium III 1000 or 1266 or 1133
4Gb Ram Sdram PC133 ECC
Integrated SCSI RAID Controller Perc 3Di with 128mb cache and the battery
2x18,2gb for the OS hot-swap
2x36Gb for the data hot-swap
2 redundant power supply hot-swap


and also I got one Dell PowerEdge 6450:
4xPentium III Xeon 700
8Gb RAM SDRAM PC100 ECC
Integrated SCSI Raid controller (don't remember cache or battery)
2x18,2gb for the OS hot-swap
2x36Gb for the data hot-swap
3 reduntand power supply hot-swap
-------------------------------

Actually I run on one Dell 2550 one of my customer portals with about 6500 unique visits per day and runs on two SQL 2005 db (installed on the same machine) of 250mb and 780mb. Ram usage of the SQL Srv only is 1,6Gb.
It runs damn fast. Win 2003 Standard SP2 onboard + IIS6 (full http compression enabled) + Sql 2005 Standard



I could re-use some of these servers for hMail.
I have on the Dell PE2550 the license of Win2000 Server, and on the PE6450 I have the Win2000 Adv Server.
If I install on the same server as hmail a large Db Engine (see Ms Sql 2000 standard wich I have licenses available) do you think I will be working for years???

Please consider that they are dedicated machines that just runs hmail.

As a standard installation on the hmail server I put:
Windows Server OS
hMailServer 4.4 -> 5.1 (to re-use the mysql db, so I have the utilities available because I fear db corruption)
IIS
PHP 5.2.x for phpwebadmin and webmail (squirrel)
ActivePERL 5.8 (for awstats)
Awstats latest release for the stats (approximative)

On Win 2000 machines I enable TCP IP Filter to close the ports on the network side (I run edge firewall on my network to do packet filter)
On Win 2003 machines I use the integrated firewall.

Do you think is a good idea to re-use that server?
I have plenty of spare-parts in house
Mr. Spadoni
Network Administrator
--
Spadhausen ISP
admin (at) spadhausen . com

black zero
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 111
Joined: 2008-08-01 15:26

Re: "old" Servers to be put in production again

Post by black zero » 2009-04-29 04:17

4 GB RAM????

:roll: That's insane lol...

I don't think the specs are going to slow hmail down, I think.

User avatar
maggiore81
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 171
Joined: 2008-01-11 16:02
Location: near Ravenna (Italy)
Contact:

Re: "old" Servers to be put in production again

Post by maggiore81 » 2009-04-29 09:32

Hello Black zero!

Nice to hear you. Well I think that so! 4Gb RAM are a lot for small-to-medium installations, since these servers could run hmail only, and maybe the database in them.
I think that MySQL 5.0 can support till 4gb ram and it is free.
Sql 2005/2008 I am unsure what to use. The standard version in nice but wants too many disk space. I have the MAPS Microsoft contract so for testing purpose (and evaluation) I could use any sql version.

What do you suggest, MySQL 5 (latest build) or SQL 2005/2008 Standard to build a rock solid installation?

Thank you
Mr. Spadoni
Network Administrator
--
Spadhausen ISP
admin (at) spadhausen . com

User avatar
mattg
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 21103
Joined: 2007-06-14 05:12
Location: 'The Outback' Australia

Re: "old" Servers to be put in production again

Post by mattg » 2009-04-29 09:39

32 bit OS can only support up to 4 GB of RAM

If you need more RAM you need to use 64 bit OS

I have a 64 Bit server with 32 GB RAM :wink:
Just 'cause I link to a page and say little else doesn't mean I am not being nice.
https://www.hmailserver.com/documentation

User avatar
maggiore81
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 171
Joined: 2008-01-11 16:02
Location: near Ravenna (Italy)
Contact:

Re: "old" Servers to be put in production again

Post by maggiore81 » 2009-04-29 09:55

Hello
I really don't understand your intervention. :?
I know that x86 works till 4gb, may work with more that 4gb using the /PAE switch.

My DELL2550 can hold 4gb RAM
the DELL6450 has 8gb ram and the license of Win 2000 Adv Server (x86 but with large memory support) :)

I plan to do dedicated machines with ClamAV on it, a nice DB and just hmail.
Mr. Spadoni
Network Administrator
--
Spadhausen ISP
admin (at) spadhausen . com

User avatar
mattg
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 21103
Joined: 2007-06-14 05:12
Location: 'The Outback' Australia

Re: "old" Servers to be put in production again

Post by mattg » 2009-04-29 17:28

I don't understand my intervention either...

Sorry, I just wanted to boast about my new server... :wink:
maggiore81 wrote:and also I got one Dell PowerEdge 6450:
4xPentium III Xeon 700
8Gb RAM SDRAM PC100 ECC
Integrated SCSI Raid controller (don't remember cache or battery)
2x18,2gb for the OS hot-swap
2x36Gb for the data hot-swap
3 reduntand power supply hot-swap
-------------------------------

Actually I run on one Dell 2550 one of my customer portals with about 6500 unique visits per day and runs on two SQL 2005 db (installed on the same machine) of 250mb and 780mb. Ram usage of the SQL Srv only is 1,6Gb.
It runs damn fast. Win 2003 Standard SP2 onboard + IIS6 (full http compression enabled) + Sql 2005 Standard
I reckon a server like that dedicated to just hmailserver would handle a lot of mail, or web mail connections.

Depending on your mail throughput and the number of Squirrelmail connections, you may consider hosting SM on one of the other machines. Depends on volume would indicate which one was hmailserver and which was dedicated web server.
Just 'cause I link to a page and say little else doesn't mean I am not being nice.
https://www.hmailserver.com/documentation

User avatar
maggiore81
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 171
Joined: 2008-01-11 16:02
Location: near Ravenna (Italy)
Contact:

Re: "old" Servers to be put in production again

Post by maggiore81 » 2009-04-29 22:16

Hello
luckily I don't have a lot of web connections, just POP3/SMTP (no IMAP for now)

I plan to use the same machine both for the database and for hmail + iis + webmail + phpwebadmin

I just put all onto a virtual machine running Win2000 Server and everything went fine.
Then I secured the server with IIS lockdown tool and with the tcp/ip filter.
Mr. Spadoni
Network Administrator
--
Spadhausen ISP
admin (at) spadhausen . com

User avatar
maggiore81
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 171
Joined: 2008-01-11 16:02
Location: near Ravenna (Italy)
Contact:

Re: "old" Servers to be put in production again

Post by maggiore81 » 2009-05-04 15:46

Hello
can some one give me also a reccomendation about wich RAID config to use?

Since my users DONT do IMAP, and all they use SMTP/POP3 only, with webmail, 50mb mailboxes each.. which RAID configuration do you suggest?

My servers have 4 disk slots,
I have 18,2 and 36,4 10.000RPM SCSI HDD.
Onboard is there a Dell PERC Controller capable of doing, RAID0, 1, 5 0+1

Since Win2000 installation takes less than 4gb (Partition C will be 4gb, just for OS only), I could create a partition H:\ for HMAIL installation folder, I also will create a partition of 4,5Gb for SQL Express 2005 SP3 database engine.


I prefer using the 18,2 hdd because I have lot of them and as you can read below, I don't need a lot of space.



Do you suggest:
a) 3x18,2Gb in RAID5 + hot spare (total about 33gb space)
b) 18,2+18,2 RAID1 10 for OS + 8 for DB
18,2+18,2 RAID1 - 18gb dedicated to hmail.
c) 4x18,2 RAID 0+1

8gb for OS
4,5gb for DB
the other space to hmail.


Please note that on this server I just run:
windows 2000 server sp4
ClamAV
IIS5 with php for squirrelmail webmail and phpwebadmin
perl and awstats 6.9 for mail stats
Hmailserver 5.1

Since I don't use IMAP4 and people always downloads the mail to their client, I dont need lot of space on the disk. I have put some domains with about 200 boxes each on a 4gb VM, and (since all people downloads email via pop3) the backup of the installation was about 70mb compressed !!!!! I think that is the dream of every mail hoster, that every user downloads the email via pop3 and so frees the disk space on the server.
Mr. Spadoni
Network Administrator
--
Spadhausen ISP
admin (at) spadhausen . com

westdam
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 728
Joined: 2006-08-01 21:24
Location: Padova, Italy
Contact:

Re: "old" Servers to be put in production again

Post by westdam » 2009-05-22 11:04

hi maggiore,
well, i think all this stuff can be reused as well ( especially the 1ghz p3 ) .
you couldnt have so much trouble with this hardware. :)




now in italian :


beh sembrano macchine piu che valide, il problema forse potrebbe sussistere su eventuali pezzi di ricambio anche se ne hai.
quanti utenti dovresti far girare su quelle macchine?

windows 2000 standard dovrebe andare più che bene e e te lo consiglio rispetto a mysql che in passato mi ha dato un sacco di problemi di coerenza di dati ( corrotto tabelle )

User avatar
maggiore81
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 171
Joined: 2008-01-11 16:02
Location: near Ravenna (Italy)
Contact:

Re: "old" Servers to be put in production again

Post by maggiore81 » 2009-05-22 11:20

Hello
I have no problems in spare parts for these machines.
I will use Windows 2000 and Microsoft SQL 2005 SP3 Express Edition.
I have once a problem with a corrupted table in mysql and I just did REPAIR TABLE with no issues. I don't know the command to execute on Ms Sql 2005 :))))


--------
Ciao
non ho problemi per i pezzi di ricambio, ne ho tantissimi.
Userò Windows 2000 e Ms SQL 2005 SP3 Express. Io ho avuto una volta sola un problema con una tabella corrotta su mysql e ho usato ilcomando REPAIR e ho sistemato subito :) In SQL non saprei il comando però...
Mr. Spadoni
Network Administrator
--
Spadhausen ISP
admin (at) spadhausen . com

westdam
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 728
Joined: 2006-08-01 21:24
Location: Padova, Italy
Contact:

Re: "old" Servers to be put in production again

Post by westdam » 2009-11-12 16:25

try to google'd for check msssql 2005 database.anyway haven't any trouble with it.

Post Reply