Multiple Domain Names

Use this forum if you have installed hMailServer and want to ask a question related to a production release of hMailServer. Before posting, please read the troubleshooting guide. A large part of all reported issues are already described in detail here.
Post Reply
tomt
New user
New user
Posts: 14
Joined: 2007-01-02 20:03

Multiple Domain Names

Post by tomt » 2007-06-02 10:34

Hi..
Hope fully a simple question.

I have 3 domains:

domain1.com - domain2.com - domain3.com

They all resolve to 1 static IP Address.

If I send an email from any of these domains, will hMailServer announce it as HELO mail.domain1.com for domain1 and HELO mail.domian2.com for domain2 etc ???

If so, how do I set that up.

I would like all email to be sent via the same static IP Address.

Thanks :)

User avatar
martin
Developer
Developer
Posts: 6837
Joined: 2003-11-21 01:09
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by martin » 2007-06-02 10:52

No, hMailServer can only use "one" host in the HELO. Why does it matter?

tomt
New user
New user
Posts: 14
Joined: 2007-01-02 20:03

Post by tomt » 2007-06-02 10:55

Just wondered..

Would be nice to announce as individual domains.

User avatar
martin
Developer
Developer
Posts: 6837
Joined: 2003-11-21 01:09
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by martin » 2007-06-02 11:05

Why? :)

tomt
New user
New user
Posts: 14
Joined: 2007-01-02 20:03

Post by tomt » 2007-06-02 11:14

I just feel it would look better if each domain announced as themselves..
No other reason :roll:

User avatar
martin
Developer
Developer
Posts: 6837
Joined: 2003-11-21 01:09
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by martin » 2007-06-02 18:00

Okay. Well, it's not possible in hMailServer. There is no technical reason to do it either.

Only downside is that if user1@domain2.com sends an email to someone@example.com, someone@example.com may see "domain1.com" in one of the headers of the email message (if he checks the "Received" headers of the email).

User avatar
danny6167
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 472
Joined: 2007-02-07 15:24
Location: Western Australia
Contact:

Post by danny6167 » 2007-06-02 18:04

Are you a hosting company or something.
Do you have your own site.
If you do i would have set something like mx1.youraddress.net as the host/hello that way you are generic. Not playing favorites.

^DooM^
Site Admin
Posts: 13861
Joined: 2005-07-29 16:18
Location: UK

Post by ^DooM^ » 2007-06-02 21:20

A lot of hosting providers use a generic HELO domain name for mail hosting. the only downside to that is if someone abuses the mail system and gets it blacklisted, all domains are blacklisted.

User avatar
danny6167
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 472
Joined: 2007-02-07 15:24
Location: Western Australia
Contact:

Post by danny6167 » 2007-06-03 05:15

If you use domain2.net you still have the same problem.

tomt
New user
New user
Posts: 14
Joined: 2007-01-02 20:03

Post by tomt » 2007-06-03 17:51

Hi

I'm not a hosting company or anything like that..

I have several domain names, thought it would look better.

BUT it's NOT an issue :)

mthosting
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 38
Joined: 2006-06-21 01:51
Location: NYC
Contact:

Post by mthosting » 2007-06-03 17:52

just as an fyi on this, make sure your helo matches your rdns.

sc

tomt
New user
New user
Posts: 14
Joined: 2007-01-02 20:03

Post by tomt » 2007-06-03 17:57

Thanks :)

Infodine
New user
New user
Posts: 15
Joined: 2007-09-03 18:46

SENT: 550 The host name specified in HELO does not match IP

Post by Infodine » 2007-09-03 18:56

Hello,

If I have this checked off in SPAM options:

Check host in the Helo command

I get this when I try sending email through the server.

"SENT: 550 The host name specified in HELO does not match IP address."

So there is no way I can use this option if I have multiple
domains sitting on the same server running hMailServer?
Is there a way? If I read it right, only the one domain which
hMailserver is using in Helo will work.... very frustrating...

=========

Also my server sends me security notices and they are always
flagged as spam. They all have roughly the same subject
(same 3 words and an offender's IP address), is there a way I
can get these messages through? I have Delete Email option
selected in SPAM options....

Thanks for your help in advance!

Warren

User avatar
martin
Developer
Developer
Posts: 6837
Joined: 2003-11-21 01:09
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by martin » 2007-09-03 19:23

When you say that you have it "checked off", do you mean it's enabled or disabled? I don't see what that setting would have to do with multiple domain names. If the host names of the server matches the IP addresses it should work just fine. Also, I assume the error message is given because the IP address your SMTP client has doesn't match the host name it sends.

Infodine
New user
New user
Posts: 15
Joined: 2007-09-03 18:46

Helo - more info

Post by Infodine » 2007-09-03 19:57

Hello,

Thanks for your quick reply.

I am very new to your server and got it installed and am now trying to figure things out. I have determined that it was the webmail program using php mail function so the ip was 127.0.0.1 so I changed it to a proper IP and it works fine now. Thanks again.

Warren

Post Reply