ClamAV for Windows

Use this forum if you have installed hMailServer and want to ask a question related to a production release of hMailServer. Before posting, please read the troubleshooting guide. A large part of all reported issues are already described in detail here.
^DooM^
Site Admin
Posts: 13861
Joined: 2005-07-29 16:18
Location: UK

Post by ^DooM^ » 2007-07-08 19:04


brashquido
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 244
Joined: 2006-06-26 07:14
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Post by brashquido » 2007-07-28 02:10

Has anyone tried Tech-Protect instead of PowerTools as their GUI for ClamAV? I've just loaded it up now and it seems a lot better.

^DooM^
Site Admin
Posts: 13861
Joined: 2005-07-29 16:18
Location: UK

Post by ^DooM^ » 2007-07-28 02:31

What no url?? :lol:

http://www.tech-pro.net/tech-protect.html

Looks nice from the main page, tis late here will check it out tomorrow. thx for the heads up ;)

brashquido
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 244
Joined: 2006-06-26 07:14
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Post by brashquido » 2007-07-29 02:10

Sorry about the no URL thing. Thought as I am the new kid on the block as far as ClamAV is concerned I was stating something all other ClamAV users probably were aware of. Tech-Protect seems to be working pretty well for me, and ClamAV seems to be doing the job as I've sent a few variations of the EICAR virus through my server and it has been picked up everytime.

^DooM^
Site Admin
Posts: 13861
Joined: 2005-07-29 16:18
Location: UK

Post by ^DooM^ » 2007-07-29 02:41

Didn't have chance to play with this yet. Was it a simple install that detects ClamAV and just does its thing or is there configuration required?

brashquido
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 244
Joined: 2006-06-26 07:14
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Post by brashquido » 2007-07-29 14:17

For me it detected the installtion of ClamAV just fine, but I do have it installed in the default path so that is probably why. As for configuration, that is all done via the GUI once installed.

^DooM^
Site Admin
Posts: 13861
Joined: 2005-07-29 16:18
Location: UK

Post by ^DooM^ » 2007-07-29 17:35

Excellent info, Thank you brashquido once again :)

walk-on
New user
New user
Posts: 7
Joined: 2007-02-05 15:42

Post by walk-on » 2007-08-02 02:51

Thanks for the info. I was having problems with clamwin using 100% cpu so I switched to clamAv and I've been happy with it. The Tech-Protect interface looks nice but I don't like it running in the tray and also the splash screen at startup.

I disabled the Tech-Protect tray from startup then installed the service for clamAv using instructions from http://www.asspsmtp.org/wiki/ClamAV_Win32.

Additionally, I created a scheduled task to update the signatures. I'll post back if I have any problems.

brashquido
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 244
Joined: 2006-06-26 07:14
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Post by brashquido » 2007-08-02 11:12

Funny you mentioned that about Tech-Protect walk-on, I was about to post something very similar. After a week or so of using Tech-Protect I would have to say it is far more suited for usage on a Decktop than a server. There has been serveral times I've found it using 100% CPU on startup (during the splash screen) and as a general rule I don't like running it in the tray either. I think I might go back to basics too using the instructions posted above...

westdam
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 728
Joined: 2006-08-01 21:24
Location: Padova, Italy
Contact:

Post by westdam » 2007-08-18 14:14

i'm testing tech protech , it's nice but not so usefull..
i suggest to take back :)
anyway it's a cheap solution .
my opinion is to use the w2k3 res. kit to install clamd service and use clamdscan to scan files in hmailserver. you can use also the clamwin interface to updates the sign. every day but it's not a serice too so you have to be logged in into your server to updates the signatures.

byez

marco

^DooM^
Site Admin
Posts: 13861
Joined: 2005-07-29 16:18
Location: UK

Post by ^DooM^ » 2007-08-18 18:29

You guys may want to take a look at this

http://hideout.ath.cx/clamav/ClamSup.zip

Windows batch file for updating scam and phish sigs.

westdam
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 728
Joined: 2006-08-01 21:24
Location: Padova, Italy
Contact:

Post by westdam » 2007-08-19 03:35

yep its interesting

but doom ,what do you feel when using this stuff?

i think its a bit too " home-made" and i think it's not reliable on production servers. maybe for a couple of server can works fine ..but if you have to manage 10 servers for example it's a bit annoying...

^DooM^
Site Admin
Posts: 13861
Joined: 2005-07-29 16:18
Location: UK

Post by ^DooM^ » 2007-08-19 14:03

I think it's fine. You only have to set it up once and forget about it.

Why do you think it's "home made"? is it because it doesn't have an installer?.... hMail is made at Martins home does that make hMail "home made" too? ;)

Joking aside it's not as if updating phish and scam sigs is a critical system now is it and if I can do that with a few files and scheduled task then great. You of course don't have to use it. :)

westdam
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 728
Joined: 2006-08-01 21:24
Location: Padova, Italy
Contact:

Post by westdam » 2007-08-19 15:23

yep infact, i've just thought this.
in the next days i'll try the script you post here to update the sign. automatically.

if it works it's nice and should be done also on several production servers :)


i think it's done "home-maid" becouse all the stuff is done by all 3d party people so if one components doesnt work the creator have to fix it , and maybe the fix changes something and other components doesnt work anymore..

i've seen this situation so many times in the past with other software.. bah.. well i dont know why i'm annoying with this stuff. hehehe probabily a bad day for me :p

anyway thanks for the info!!
bye

^DooM^
Site Admin
Posts: 13861
Joined: 2005-07-29 16:18
Location: UK

Post by ^DooM^ » 2007-08-19 15:58

westdam wrote:i think it's done "home-maid" becouse all the stuff is done by all 3d party people so if one components doesnt work the creator have to fix it , and maybe the fix changes something and other components doesnt work anymore..
Such as when Microsoft updates windows and breaks software :lol: :lol:

Nothing is ever certain in this world. If it breaks then it's easy enough to just delete the files you could also argue the fact that because it is only a few files it will be easy to fix but anyway's if it saves me having to manually update the signatures for even a month then that's time well spent in my book :)
If at first you don't succeed, bomb disposal probably isn't for you! ヅ

westdam
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 728
Joined: 2006-08-01 21:24
Location: Padova, Italy
Contact:

Post by westdam » 2007-08-20 18:56

yep, yep.

hehe yes, like ms updates :p

westdam
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 728
Joined: 2006-08-01 21:24
Location: Padova, Italy
Contact:

Re: ClamAV for Windows

Post by westdam » 2008-04-07 16:16

mmmm i've notice after some time the clamd service use a lot of memory and hmails slowdown (due to clamd slowdown itself )

any ideas??

redrummy
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 370
Joined: 2007-06-21 06:52
Location: Alaska

Re: ClamAV for Windows

Post by redrummy » 2008-04-07 18:24

Which version? What options are you using (or post your conf)?
V 0.91.2 and 0.92.1 are okay. Do NOT use 0.92.0.

westdam
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 728
Joined: 2006-08-01 21:24
Location: Padova, Italy
Contact:

Re: ClamAV for Windows

Post by westdam » 2008-04-08 00:55

ok
of course i'm using 0.92

why?? lots of bugs?

westdam
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 728
Joined: 2006-08-01 21:24
Location: Padova, Italy
Contact:

Re: ClamAV for Windows

Post by westdam » 2008-04-08 00:57

anyway, simple installed as service, using the clamwin procedure on hmailserver.just used clamdscan insted clamscan.
do I need any special settings on conf file?

redrummy
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 370
Joined: 2007-06-21 06:52
Location: Alaska

Re: ClamAV for Windows

Post by redrummy » 2008-04-08 06:09

0.92.0 had a bug where certain files (CHM files, not sure which others, if any) caused service to consume CPU & generate temp files until process was killed... effectively causing a DOS condition. I'd strongly suggest upgrading or downgrading (or at least research the affected file types and block them completely) to avoid the problem.

I call clamdscan with the ClamWin option but I know some others use the External option. I don't think it matters.

I don't remember the default conf settings, but the file is fairly well commented so reading through it and making the changes that seem to be appropriate/recommended for Windows systems is in order if you haven't done that already.

0.92.1 does seem consume more memory than 0.91.2 did (~44MB+8MB typ, ~80MB peak). What's "a lot" (what is it using on your system)?

westdam
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 728
Joined: 2006-08-01 21:24
Location: Padova, Italy
Contact:

Re: ClamAV for Windows

Post by westdam » 2008-04-08 15:13

mmm about 100 MB but generally after some times the clamav service crash and of course hmailserver cant check for virusses. just before crashing i've got clamdscan process which use 100% cpu and so on..


right now i'm using EZ Trust 2004-2005 edition to scan mail but i've to change since my license expires on 14 apr.
i wanna use ClamD but i'm not sure if it's reliable or not...
maybe a service restart every day would reduce ram consuming..

Post Reply