norton anti-virus integration

Use this forum if you have installed hMailServer and want to ask a question related to a production release of hMailServer. Before posting, please read the troubleshooting guide. A large part of all reported issues are already described in detail here.
Post Reply
anwoke8204
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 51
Joined: 2006-09-27 05:49

norton anti-virus integration

Post by anwoke8204 » 2006-09-28 00:15

Hi I use norton antivirus server here on my network as well, and was wondering if all I do is set the path to norton antivirus, or do I need to enter some switches as well. many thanks

cveillon
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 88
Joined: 2006-01-31 23:56
Location: Roy, UT USA

Post by cveillon » 2006-09-28 01:40

I think you'll have to point the path to Norton's command line exe scanner. Then you'll have to know the return value.

See: http://www.hmailserver.com/documentatio ... eturnvalue

... to find the return value.

I recommend you not use Norton and use ClamWin instead. It's a very low memory profile and works fantastic. Especially the auto-setup for hmailserver.

my two cents.

with best regards,
Chuck
hMailServer 4.4.1-B273 Built-in MySQL
3 ea prod mx servers on XP Home, 1 ea on Win2k

iprat
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 247
Joined: 2005-05-20 16:50
Location: Barcelona, EU
Contact:

Post by iprat » 2006-09-28 12:05

And it is very important to disable any Norton on-access-scan over the entire hMailServer directories, or hMailServer will suffer from temporary files being quarantined and other kind of disgusting issues.
My perfect combination:
hMailServer 5.6.1 (B2208), ASSP 1.3.3.8 (antispam), Clamav 0.98.6 (antivirus)

woyzeck
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 74
Joined: 2005-10-18 21:35
Location: St. Paul, MN

Post by woyzeck » 2006-09-28 22:03

Hi I use norton antivirus server here on my network as well, and was wondering if all I do is set the path to norton antivirus, or do I need to enter some switches as well. many thanks
You may want to check your license agreement that came with your software. You may technically be able to do this but, you may not legally be able to do this. Symantec has gateway software for mailservers. The last version of this software that I used, I did not like for many reasons.

Also, I will second what iprat said about the on-access-scan. You will run into problems if you leave this on.

Woyzeck

anwoke8204
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 51
Joined: 2006-09-27 05:49

Post by anwoke8204 » 2006-09-29 01:26

K next question is then can I use norton antivirus for my network and clam win on the same computer and use clamwin for the e-mail
many thanks. I don't wan't to get rid of norton as I have the whole server/client working for my network here. and my webserver is also my norton server. many thanks

^DooM^
Site Admin
Posts: 13861
Joined: 2005-07-29 16:18
Location: UK

Post by ^DooM^ » 2006-09-29 01:38

I don't see any reason why not. Clamwin is only used to scan emails. It is a server product at the end of the day and unless you tell it to it will not scan your system.

I use both CA Etrust and Clamwin on my servers with no ill effect.

minsik
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 92
Joined: 2006-08-03 13:08
Location: South Australia

Post by minsik » 2006-09-29 02:57

I suggest good policy, used Notrons for general pc and as a server of nortons for your other networked pc's ( just exclude the hmailserver and assp directories from real time scanning)
and install and use clam or other commandline AV scanner program as configured in hmailserver to scan emails etc.

Just make sure to exclude boot/memory and other options just scan the all files is also selected.. usually by parameters.

Good luck.

cveillon
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 88
Joined: 2006-01-31 23:56
Location: Roy, UT USA

Post by cveillon » 2006-09-29 20:42

Both should work just fine together without problems.

anwoke8204
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 51
Joined: 2006-09-27 05:49

Post by anwoke8204 » 2006-10-07 08:11

And it is very important to disable any Norton on-access-scan over the entire hMailServer directories, or hMailServer will suffer from temporary files being quarantined and other kind of disgusting issues.
how do I do this?

I was able to figure it out, the option was kind of hidden, do I wan't to have norton not scan the clamwin directory as well, or should i have norton scan the clamwin dir?

Post Reply