Page 1 of 1

VMWare, netserver (WASP) and attached files

Posted: 2006-06-02 13:39
by FAWTS
Hi all,

I have virtualise my servers as I use Ubuntu most of the time and most of it works.

I only have 1 problem, I cannot send mail with attached file using Squirellmail nor Round Cube.

My configuration is :
Ubuntu breezy 5.10 with WMplayer => Win XP SP 2 Hmailserver 4.2.1 B 197, Apache/2.0.54 (Win32) mod_perl/1.99_16 Perl/v5.8.6 PHP/5.0.4 mod_ssl/2.0.54 OpenSSL/0.9.7g, Squirrelmail 1.4.5.

When I send a mail with attached file, I do not have any error message. It just stop without sending mail. Nothing in Hmailserver logfile nor whith Apache error log file or PHP log file.

U'll be able to check my conf files on http://www.tsinformatique.org/conf

Thanks a lot!!!

Posted: 2006-06-02 16:07
by CraigHarris
Your file upload temporary directory appears to be wrongly configured - set this to an explicit path to which apache/php has permission to read & write.

Also you should change log_errors to on if you have problems, but no error messages displayed.

If you are getting past the upload stage, then there should be at least some mention of the SMTP conversation in hMail logs - be sure to enable SMTP, application & debug logging whilst tracking down this issue.

Posted: 2006-06-02 20:30
by ajw
I have virtualise my servers as I use Ubuntu most of the time and most of it works.

*Cool*! I downloaded the new Ubuntu last night - I want to play with it over vacation. (figures; now that I've found hMailServer and it runs on Windows - *that's* when I'll finally move to Linux... :)

Just offhand, which virtualization software do you use?

- Al Weiner -

Posted: 2006-06-02 20:39
by ajw
Just offhand, which virtualization software do you use?

oh, *duh*!! I just noticed the topic title... :)

- Al Weiner -

Posted: 2006-06-02 20:43
by ajw
/me ponders running Windows XP with Virtual Server 2005 to run Linux and VMWare to run Windows again and run QEMU and and and... I wonder if I can slow a 2Ghz machine down to the speed of molasses?

Or I could just run Vista... :)

- Al Weiner -
(who's thinking that if I did everything in multiple virtual machines maybe I can finally figure out what's locking up this machine every few days...)

Posted: 2006-06-06 02:16
by FAWTS
OK, it was a PHP conf issue. I don't know wich one exactly, but I follow your advice and I compare with my PHP 4.4 conf file to solve it. Now everything works perfectly.

Thanks!!!