Send mail and not receive without domain/records - possible?

Use this forum if you have installed hMailServer and want to ask a question related to a production release of hMailServer. Before posting, please read the troubleshooting guide. A large part of all reported issues are already described in detail here.
Adriansun
New user
New user

Send mail and not receive without domain/records - possible?

Post by Adriansun » 2020-07-24 19:58

Hello everybody!

I am new to this, and I have a Java project where I am trying to lower all costs and dependencies as much as possible.
There are two options: Send mails through the Java program with e.g., Gmail (50 mails for free per day) or MailChimp (10.000 mail per month for free). Both of these companies (and others) can change and close accounts at their own will and change the amount of free emails, which is not good at all. The other option is to go with my own mail server. The problem now is that I believe that I cannot just use my own IP-address as a setup for the hmailserver. I need a domain name, which is not a great cost, but is a cost and also a dependency towards someone else. Which is not good.

I am wondering; can someone like me, who has a Java program that will never receive mail, but only send out mails, use ones own computer IP-address instead of a domain name that need to be registered?
Mails that are suppose to be send/processed: verification mails (no-reply) for new users and maybe a news letter (no-reply).

Is this possible somehow?

Virinum
Normal user
Normal user

Re: Send mail and not receive without domain/records - possible?

Post by Virinum » 2020-07-24 21:29

You could do that. But your mails will definitely go to the spam folder of the recipients or don’t get accepted by the receiving mail servers.

Most IP addresses for private use are on blacklists, or your ISP blocks outgoing port 25 completely.