How to migrate postboxes to second domain?

Use this forum if you have installed hMailServer and want to ask a question related to a production release of hMailServer. Before posting, please read the troubleshooting guide. A large part of all reported issues are already described in detail here.
Post Reply
Mousemover
New user
New user
Posts: 2
Joined: 2019-06-20 17:57

How to migrate postboxes to second domain?

Post by Mousemover » 2019-06-20 18:22

I was so stupid to call the domain of my hmail server "t-online.de".
If I now want to send emails to recipients with a t-online.de address, I get the message that the recipient is unknown.
This is clear, since it does not exist in my "t-online" domain. :wink:
I pick up the emails via POP3 from t-online.de to my hmail server and send emails via smtp via t-online.
t-online is big german internet provider (magenta).
I now had the idea of creating a second domain on the hmail server, creating the 3 accounts and using this domain in the future.
What is the easiest way to copy the existing mailboxes into the new domain?
As web client I use roundcube.
I don't dare to rename the domain "t-online.de".

User avatar
SorenR
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 3153
Joined: 2006-08-21 15:38
Location: Denmark

Re: How to migrate postboxes to second domain?

Post by SorenR » 2019-06-20 18:32

Mousemover wrote:
2019-06-20 18:22
I was so stupid to call the domain of my hmail server "t-online.de".
If I now want to send emails to recipients with a t-online.de address, I get the message that the recipient is unknown.
This is clear, since it does not exist in my "t-online" domain. :wink:
I pick up the emails via POP3 from t-online.de to my hmail server and send emails via smtp via t-online.
t-online is big german internet provider (magenta).
I now had the idea of creating a second domain on the hmail server, creating the 3 accounts and using this domain in the future.
What is the easiest way to copy the existing mailboxes into the new domain?
As web client I use roundcube.
I don't dare to rename the domain "t-online.de".
Rename the domain!

I have an internal domain I use for testing, it changes name from time to time. Right now it's "acme.inc" :mrgreen:

Only thing to remember is your account on hMailServer which used to be "user@t-online.de" will be "user@mousemover.de" when clients log in. The POP3 fetch you configured should not be affected.
SørenR.

The quantum rule of insecurity which states that the act of observing how vulnerable a host or service is changes the insecurity level of the service.

User avatar
jimimaseye
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8006
Joined: 2011-09-08 17:48

Re: How to migrate postboxes to second domain?

Post by jimimaseye » 2019-06-20 18:35

If you don't have much mail i you accounts on hmailserver then you can just rename the domain. But beware: be patient! The process involves copying all the messages at os level before it completes so will take time to compete.

[Entered by mobile. Excuse my spelling.]
HMS 5.6.6 B2383 on Win Server 2008 R2 Foundation, + 5.6.7-B2415 on test.
SpamassassinForWindows 3.4.0 spamd service
AV: Clamwin + Clamd service + sanesecurity defs : https://www.hmailserver.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=26829

User avatar
mattg
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19878
Joined: 2007-06-14 05:12
Location: 'The Outback' Australia

Re: How to migrate postboxes to second domain?

Post by mattg » 2019-06-21 01:20

you could ALTERNATIVELY just set a route to that domain in SMTP routes


I'd also expect that currently, unless you are using SMTP Relayer to send all mail, that most mail from you would be seen as SPAM by another recipient on the internet as your hMailserver will not meet the SPF or DKIM records of that domain
Just 'cause I link to a page and say little else doesn't mean I am not being nice.
https://www.hmailserver.com/documentation

Mousemover
New user
New user
Posts: 2
Joined: 2019-06-20 17:57

Re: How to migrate postboxes to second domain?

Post by Mousemover » 2019-06-23 13:15

Thank you mattg for your suggestion. I guess this will be the most gentle way to solve my issue.
I'll try it. But I can test only if I have to send an email to a t-online.de recipient in the future.
I hope this is the correct configuration for the routing:

Image
SMTP Delivery Settings

Image
Routes General


Image
Routes Delivery

User avatar
mattg
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19878
Joined: 2007-06-14 05:12
Location: 'The Outback' Australia

Re: How to migrate postboxes to second domain?

Post by mattg » 2019-06-24 00:57

looks about right
Try it
Just 'cause I link to a page and say little else doesn't mean I am not being nice.
https://www.hmailserver.com/documentation

Post Reply