Starttls- Does it work right off the box ?

Use this forum if you have installed hMailServer and want to ask a question related to a production release of hMailServer. Before posting, please read the troubleshooting guide. A large part of all reported issues are already described in detail here.
Post Reply
User avatar
timex163
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 38
Joined: 2014-06-17 13:20
Location: Montréal

Starttls- Does it work right off the box ?

Post by timex163 » 2014-09-21 05:38

Hi,

i just upgraded to build 2074 and was wondering if i needed to do something special to allow starttls to work.

Using MXtoolbox, i get "Warning - Does not support TLS."

I feel so silly for asking this. :oops:

percepts
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 5282
Joined: 2009-10-20 16:33
Location: Sceptred Isle

Re: Starttls- Does it work right off the box ?

Post by percepts » 2014-09-21 05:44

have you considered reading the documentation, looking through the hmailadmin panels or can't you be bothered.

User avatar
timex163
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 38
Joined: 2014-06-17 13:20
Location: Montréal

Re: Starttls- Does it work right off the box ?

Post by timex163 » 2014-09-21 05:54

When I search the documentation for starttls this is what I find.

https://www.hmailserver.com/documentati ... n_security

ALso i looked throw the Admin panel.

I just need you to point me to the right direction. I did not need you to antagonise me...

User avatar
mattg
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19810
Joined: 2007-06-14 05:12
Location: 'The Outback' Australia

Re: Starttls- Does it work right off the box ?

Post by mattg » 2014-09-21 08:22

How do you want StartTLS to work?

What connections do you want to use that security mechanism for?

Connections TO your hmailserver from mail clients? What protocol?
Connections TO your hmailserver from other mail servers?
Connections FROM your hMailserver for External account downloads?
Connections FROM your hMailserver for some specific other mail servers?
All outgoing connections FROM your hmailserver to other mail servers where StartTLS is supported by them?

And most importantly, what are you hoping is achieved by using StartTSL?
Just 'cause I link to a page and say little else doesn't mean I am not being nice.
https://www.hmailserver.com/documentation

User avatar
timex163
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 38
Joined: 2014-06-17 13:20
Location: Montréal

Re: Starttls- Does it work right off the box ?

Post by timex163 » 2014-09-24 03:51

Sorry for the late reply and thanks for the help.
Connections TO your hmailserver from mail clients? What protocol?
Connections TO your hmailserver from other mail servers?
Connections FROM your hMailserver for External account downloads?
Connections FROM your hMailserver for some specific other mail servers?
All outgoing connections FROM your hmailserver to other mail servers where StartTLS is supported by them?
What I am trying to achieve is any connection to the server to use or have the option of starttls. I'm under the impression that Starttls is just plain better and also to have that silly warning sign on mxtoolbox.com be removed.

thanks for the help.

User avatar
mattg
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19810
Joined: 2007-06-14 05:12
Location: 'The Outback' Australia

Re: Starttls- Does it work right off the box ?

Post by mattg » 2014-09-24 04:51

So you will need to get and set up a certificate, and set the listening ports in TCP ports to use StartTLS.

As far as the warning on MXtoolbox.com is concerned, I have no idea what will make them take that down. You should check with them.

Using StartTLS is not guaranteeing that your emails are secured, but yes it is slightly better than no security
Just 'cause I link to a page and say little else doesn't mean I am not being nice.
https://www.hmailserver.com/documentation

User avatar
timex163
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 38
Joined: 2014-06-17 13:20
Location: Montréal

Re: Starttls- Does it work right off the box ?

Post by timex163 » 2014-09-24 05:44

Thank you for the fast response mattg. Has of right now i am using a signed SSL certificate. What would be the process of enabling startls on the port.

Here is what I have has options

Image

Thanks for the help

User avatar
mattg
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19810
Joined: 2007-06-14 05:12
Location: 'The Outback' Australia

Re: Starttls- Does it work right off the box ?

Post by mattg » 2014-09-24 06:12

timex163 wrote:i just upgraded to build 2074...
That screen shot is not the version that you detailed earlier that you have.
Build 2074 has a drop down box rather than the checkbox for SSL
Just 'cause I link to a page and say little else doesn't mean I am not being nice.
https://www.hmailserver.com/documentation

User avatar
timex163
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 38
Joined: 2014-06-17 13:20
Location: Montréal

Re: Starttls- Does it work right off the box ?

Post by timex163 » 2014-09-24 06:20

Yes I am using that build.

Image

User avatar
mattg
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19810
Joined: 2007-06-14 05:12
Location: 'The Outback' Australia

Re: Starttls- Does it work right off the box ?

Post by mattg » 2014-09-24 08:00

I'd download again from the link, and then install over the top of the existing install.

The TCP/IP page you show is definitely incorrect.
I'm not sure how that could have happened...

This is installed on a Server 2012 Machine??
Just 'cause I link to a page and say little else doesn't mean I am not being nice.
https://www.hmailserver.com/documentation

User avatar
timex163
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 38
Joined: 2014-06-17 13:20
Location: Montréal

Re: Starttls- Does it work right off the box ?

Post by timex163 » 2014-09-24 13:19

It's installed on windows server 2012 r2. I will reinstall it shortly.

User avatar
timex163
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 38
Joined: 2014-06-17 13:20
Location: Montréal

Re: Starttls- Does it work right off the box ?

Post by timex163 » 2014-09-26 03:59

I basically re did the upgrade, still same thing...

There no difference.

Should i re install the hmail server ?

User avatar
mattg
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19810
Joined: 2007-06-14 05:12
Location: 'The Outback' Australia

Re: Starttls- Does it work right off the box ?

Post by mattg » 2014-09-26 05:36

sorry, I don't understand...

What did you do?
What else are you wanting to do?

That seems that same thing to me.
Just 'cause I link to a page and say little else doesn't mean I am not being nice.
https://www.hmailserver.com/documentation

User avatar
timex163
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 38
Joined: 2014-06-17 13:20
Location: Montréal

Re: Starttls- Does it work right off the box ?

Post by timex163 » 2014-09-26 06:58

I'm trying to get those options you speak of.

I was able to acess them using the web gui. But the application manager is still not showing them.

What i did, Is to redo the hmailserver upgrade.

User avatar
timex163
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 38
Joined: 2014-06-17 13:20
Location: Montréal

Re: Starttls- Does it work right off the box ?

Post by timex163 » 2014-09-26 07:01

So i basically finally got them, I just had to re install the administration tools... It seems there a bug when you just do a normal upgrade, the administration don'T seem to be upgraded too.

User avatar
mattg
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19810
Joined: 2007-06-14 05:12
Location: 'The Outback' Australia

Re: Starttls- Does it work right off the box ?

Post by mattg » 2014-09-26 16:06

When you say a 'normal upgrade' what exactly did you do?
Just 'cause I link to a page and say little else doesn't mean I am not being nice.
https://www.hmailserver.com/documentation

User avatar
timex163
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 38
Joined: 2014-06-17 13:20
Location: Montréal

Re: Starttls- Does it work right off the box ?

Post by timex163 » 2014-09-26 16:09

Download latest build.
Stop Hmailserver.
Start latest build setup.
next next next next next next next next next next :lol:

and tadam.

User avatar
mattg
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19810
Joined: 2007-06-14 05:12
Location: 'The Outback' Australia

Re: Starttls- Does it work right off the box ?

Post by mattg » 2014-09-26 16:14

So how is this different?
timex163 wrote:So i basically finally got them, I just had to re install the administration tools.
Just 'cause I link to a page and say little else doesn't mean I am not being nice.
https://www.hmailserver.com/documentation

User avatar
timex163
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 38
Joined: 2014-06-17 13:20
Location: Montréal

Re: Starttls- Does it work right off the box ?

Post by timex163 » 2014-09-26 16:19

When i did the first upgrade, the tools for a reason did not get upgrade. I reran the installation and only chose the administration tools.That's how i got them to work and do the upgrade.

User avatar
mattg
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19810
Joined: 2007-06-14 05:12
Location: 'The Outback' Australia

Re: Starttls- Does it work right off the box ?

Post by mattg » 2014-09-27 01:05

Well, yes if you want the admin GUI updated to the new version, you need to update the tools.

I'm still just not sure how you managed to only update the server and not the tools...

But anyway, glad you have it sorted.
Just 'cause I link to a page and say little else doesn't mean I am not being nice.
https://www.hmailserver.com/documentation

User avatar
timex163
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 38
Joined: 2014-06-17 13:20
Location: Montréal

Re: Starttls- Does it work right off the box ?

Post by timex163 » 2014-10-07 20:59

:mrgreen: Did I install a Beta build ?

I thought 2074 was stable.

Please tell me i'm not crazy.

User avatar
mattg
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 19810
Joined: 2007-06-14 05:12
Location: 'The Outback' Australia

Re: Starttls- Does it work right off the box ?

Post by mattg » 2014-10-08 00:05

I think it was listed as stable for three days, and then taken off stable when a couple of issues were identified.

Still a Beta, only so that more testing can be done.
Is it working for you?
Just 'cause I link to a page and say little else doesn't mean I am not being nice.
https://www.hmailserver.com/documentation

User avatar
timex163
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 38
Joined: 2014-06-17 13:20
Location: Montréal

Re: Starttls- Does it work right off the box ?

Post by timex163 » 2014-10-10 03:20

To be honest,

Everything is working fine at the exception of the spf rules not being applied.

Mattg, would you recommend me downloading always the lastest beta build or staying on this version until next stable release.

Post Reply