install/configure PHPWebAdmin

Use this forum if you have installed hMailServer and want to ask a question related to a production release of hMailServer. Before posting, please read the troubleshooting guide. A large part of all reported issues are already described in detail here.
Post Reply
cola4ever
New user
New user
Posts: 5
Joined: 2005-02-27 19:24

install/configure PHPWebAdmin

Post by cola4ever » 2005-02-27 20:04

I have an issue installing and configuring;

My context:
Windows XP Pro SP 2
Apache 2.0.53
Mysql 4.1.10
PHP 5.03

These are the steps I took;
Copied the phpwebadmin folder to my documentroot.
Copied config-dist.php to config.php
Created template_c and temp directories
Changed config.php settings to;

Code: Select all

$hmail_config['rootpath']          = "c:/apache2/htdocs/phpwebadmin/";
$hmail_config['rooturl']           = "http://127.0.0.1/phpwebadmin";
$hmail_config['includepath']       = $hmail_config['rootpath'] . "include/";
$hmail_config['temppath']          = $hmail_config['rootpath'] . "temp/";
$hmail_config['pluginpath']        = $hmail_config['rootpath'] . "plugins/";
$hmail_config['admin']             = "user";
$hmail_config['adminpassword']     = "password";
$hmail_config['defaultlanguage']   = "english";
$hmail_config['defaulttheme']      = "default";
All I get when I enter "http://127.0.0.1/phpwebadmin/" in my browser is a blank page.
Other web application like phpmyadmin, phpbb, vbulletin and mambo work fine.

I have absolutely no idea what to do.

Thanks in advance.

User avatar
layer
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 55
Joined: 2004-09-12 14:19
Location: Portugal

Post by layer » 2005-02-28 02:03

upgrade php for 5 version...

cola4ever
New user
New user
Posts: 5
Joined: 2005-02-27 19:24

Post by cola4ever » 2005-02-28 11:24

upgrade php for 5 version...
I already have PHP 5 installed

My context:
Windows XP Pro SP 2
Apache 2.0.53
Mysql 4.1.10
PHP 5.03

vasi
New user
New user
Posts: 3
Joined: 2005-02-28 18:38

The same problem but solved

Post by vasi » 2005-02-28 18:46

sorry for my english :(

so a have the same problem and downloaded PHP 5.03 installed and...the same... so i do the following things to get web administration working. I rename my directory to "mail" for fast typing
$hmail_config['rootpath'] = "C:/apache/Apache2/htdocs/mail/";
$hmail_config['rooturl'] = "http://127.0.0.1/mail/";
$hmail_config['includepath'] = $hmail_config['rootpath'] . "include/";
$hmail_config['temppath'] = $hmail_config['rootpath'] . "temp/";
$hmail_config['pluginpath'] = $hmail_config['rootpath'] . "plugins/";
$hmail_config['admin'] = "********";
$hmail_config['adminpassword'] = "*******";
$hmail_config['defaultlanguage'] = "english";
$hmail_config['defaulttheme'] = "default";
look at end slashes ("/") at rooturl and rootpath. They are as i understand VERY important.

second thing is to have subfolder "sessiondata" in your php folder. I did't have it and receive some stupud errors, but after i created this "sessiondata" folder, everythings go normaly.

I hope that helps 8)

User avatar
martin
Developer
Developer
Posts: 6837
Joined: 2003-11-21 01:09
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by martin » 2005-02-28 19:27

Also, you could try turning on error_reporting in php.ini to see if that shows some error.

cola4ever
New user
New user
Posts: 5
Joined: 2005-02-27 19:24

Post by cola4ever » 2005-03-02 20:47

I added the forward slashes to the 'rootpath' and 'rooturl' and now everything seems to be working fine.

So, thanks :)

User avatar
martin
Developer
Developer
Posts: 6837
Joined: 2003-11-21 01:09
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by martin » 2005-03-08 21:12

:)

callforsitters
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 32
Joined: 2005-04-28 15:47

Post by callforsitters » 2005-05-22 04:20

I'm running IIS 6.0, PHP 5.03 and hmailserver with MSSQL. I'm having the same blank-page problem as mentioned above but nothing seems to be fixing it. Below is my config file.

Code: Select all

// Global configuration
$hmail_config['rootpath']		= "C:/Inetpub/wwwroot/PHPWebAdmin/";
$hmail_config['rooturl']		= "http://127.0.0.1/PHPWebAdmin/";
$hmail_config['includepath']		= $hmail_config['rootpath'] . "include/";
$hmail_config['temppath']		= $hmail_config['rootpath'] . "temp/";
$hmail_config['pluginpath']		= $hmail_config['rootpath'] . "plugins/";
$hmail_config['admin']			= "PRIVATE";
$hmail_config['adminpassword']		= "PRIVATE";
$hmail_config['defaultlanguage']	= "english";
$hmail_config['defaulttheme']		= "default";
[/code]

User avatar
martin
Developer
Developer
Posts: 6837
Joined: 2003-11-21 01:09
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by martin » 2005-05-22 17:07

Then why do you think it would be "the same" problem? :)

You're problem is probably the same as the end of this thread:
http://www.hmailserver.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=9908

callforsitters
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 32
Joined: 2005-04-28 15:47

Post by callforsitters » 2005-05-24 16:08

Hi Martin,

I'm still at the blank page stage and haven't gotten as far as the login form yet. :(

User avatar
mcampbell
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 148
Joined: 2004-03-30 20:31
Location: North East US

Post by mcampbell » 2005-05-24 18:30

Try commeting out the "doc_root" line in your php.ini file I had the same problem but commeting that line makes it all work. (though I have IIS)
HM 4.2B195 :: MySQL 4.1 :: PHP 4.3.11 :: Win2k
Power over "them"

callforsitters
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 32
Joined: 2005-04-28 15:47

Post by callforsitters » 2005-05-24 18:49

I too have IIS 6.0. Thanks for the suggestion but it didn't do anything.

I just realized I'm running php 5.0.4 if that makes a difference.

edit

Okay, I fixed the problem. I created the temp folders and gave the user Write/Read control but not FULL control. Changing that fixed the problem. Thanks for all of your help.

Post Reply