Login without the "@domain"

Use this forum if you have installed hMailServer and want to ask a question related to a production release of hMailServer. Before posting, please read the troubleshooting guide. A large part of all reported issues are already described in detail here.
Post Reply
rodrigo
New user
New user
Posts: 1
Joined: 2005-02-25 16:26

Login without the "@domain"

Post by rodrigo » 2005-02-25 16:29

At present, when I create an account the login name is "user@domain". Is there any way for users to log in with just "user"?

Thanks,

Rodrigo

User avatar
martin
Developer
Developer
Posts: 6837
Joined: 2003-11-21 01:09
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by martin » 2005-02-25 16:44

No, that is currently not possible.
It will be implemented but it has not been done yet.

jdamian
New user
New user
Posts: 17
Joined: 2005-01-06 23:30
Contact:

Post by jdamian » 2005-03-01 00:00

on a side note, I've modified the login page to squirrelmail so that users dont have to put the domain in.

tweaker
New user
New user
Posts: 19
Joined: 2005-02-02 14:05

Post by tweaker » 2005-03-30 09:32

Hm interesting....how did you do that? :)

ric melia
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 33
Joined: 2004-12-13 15:11

Post by ric melia » 2005-03-30 10:34


User avatar
pjcarmen
New user
New user
Posts: 9
Joined: 2004-11-16 23:10
Location: USA

Post by pjcarmen » 2005-04-01 19:22

I have used this code, it works great!

User avatar
TheAngryPenguin
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 341
Joined: 2004-10-11 20:51

Post by TheAngryPenguin » 2005-04-01 20:18

Have you checked out the LOGIN_ALIAS plugin? It "allows the user to login with an alias instead of their real account username." It's pretty sweet, actually. Once you've installed it, go to Options>Personal Information -- it'll be at the bottom of the page. If ya wanna get really crafty, you can pre-specify this in your users' pref files. Simply add:

Code: Select all

login_alias=%alias_name%
...to the the end of %user%@%yourdomain%.pref which should be located in %squirrelmail_install_directory%\data

Having just installed it, I wonder what will happen when the same alias has been chosen for two different accounts...

Edit: Aha! Looks like it actually parses all users' pref files. When I tried to add the same alias to a second account, I got "ERROR: Alias is already in use. Please select another alias." Nice!

Edit2: Looks like you also have to update "login_alias.pref" as well...

Edit3: LOL -- sorry about all the edits ;) -- looks like all you really need to edit is "login_alias.pref" -- any additional aliases added by the user will be appended to this file.

djcujo
New user
New user
Posts: 9
Joined: 2005-05-23 11:15

Post by djcujo » 2005-05-26 21:46

Is it possible to create the same for the hmailserver?

Now i use Exchange for my pop3 users, and want to change to hmailserver... but... Now they login with only the alias, and not the whole email adress.

If i change to hmailserver i have to go to everyone to change the login name to the full email adress.

It would be great if there was/is/will be a mod/add-on to login into hmailserver with just the username/alias.

Post Reply