HOWTO: Using Kaspersky AV 7 with hMailServer

Use this forum if you have installed hMailServer and want to ask a question related to a production release of hMailServer. Before posting, please read the troubleshooting guide. A large part of all reported issues are already described in detail here.
Locked
User avatar
danny6167
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 472
Joined: 2007-02-07 15:24
Location: Western Australia
Contact:

HOWTO: Using Kaspersky AV 7 with hMailServer

Post by danny6167 » 2007-11-27 08:40

After some one requested it i have made this little how to for kaspersky AV intergration in to hmailserver.

First create a batch file containing...

Code: Select all

set scanner="C:\Program Files\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Anti-Virus 7.0\avp.com"
%scanner% scan "%1" /i0 -es:15
if "%errorlevel%" == "101" goto virus
if "%errorlevel%" == "102" goto virus

:exit
exit /b 0

:virus
exit /b 1
IF you installed kaspersky some ware else modify the first line to suit.
Then save it as C:\hmailAV.bat


In hmail administrator go to settings -> antivirus and click the "external virus scanner" tab

for scanner executable enter " c:/hmailAV.bat "%FILE%" " with out the quotes at the end but WITH the quotes around %FILE%

Set the return value to "1" and click save.

You may get a little popup notification from Kaspersky when it detects a virus mut you can disable that.

Note: i turned off email scanning because i was using the same computer for client and server. I dont know if it will affect it if you are only running server.
Last edited by danny6167 on 2007-12-02 16:49, edited 2 times in total.
[Destiny = Desternation] [Desternation = Last Stop] [Last Stop = Death]
So you destiny doesn't really matter, its what you do before you get there.

phil54
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 195
Joined: 2007-11-26 13:13
Location: UK :-)

Post by phil54 » 2007-11-27 11:22

Did that work on server 2003 danny?

User avatar
danny6167
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 472
Joined: 2007-02-07 15:24
Location: Western Australia
Contact:

Post by danny6167 » 2007-11-27 11:27

I tested it on XP but asuming you can install Kaspersky on server 2003 it shod work.

The batch file only requires 2000/xp and up

phil54
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 195
Joined: 2007-11-26 13:13
Location: UK :-)

Post by phil54 » 2007-11-27 11:57

I'd best get downloading :)

User avatar
danny6167
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 472
Joined: 2007-02-07 15:24
Location: Western Australia
Contact:

Post by danny6167 » 2007-11-27 11:58

Yeh, let us know how you go.

phil54
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 195
Joined: 2007-11-26 13:13
Location: UK :-)

Post by phil54 » 2007-11-27 16:19

Unfortunately it doesnt work on server 2003, back to the drawing board ... :(

User avatar
danny6167
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 472
Joined: 2007-02-07 15:24
Location: Western Australia
Contact:

Post by danny6167 » 2007-11-28 05:01

Can you explain exactualy what doesnt work on 2003. You mean you cant install kaspersky?

I still recommend clamAV as a good choice.

phil54
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 195
Joined: 2007-11-26 13:13
Location: UK :-)

Post by phil54 » 2007-11-28 11:30

Sorry, kaspersky 7 isnt supported on 2003 server.

User avatar
danny6167
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 472
Joined: 2007-02-07 15:24
Location: Western Australia
Contact:

Post by danny6167 » 2007-11-28 12:15

ok. Yeh thought so. AVG free has the same limitation even though i have proven that it runs fine on a server.

phil54
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 195
Joined: 2007-11-26 13:13
Location: UK :-)

Post by phil54 » 2007-11-28 12:19

I think we might go with sophos, it has the command line client and works well. I just need to test it properly and get the return value

User avatar
[PT]Cableguy
New user
New user
Posts: 25
Joined: 2007-02-22 11:09
Location: Portugal

Post by [PT]Cableguy » 2007-11-29 19:43

phil54 wrote:I think we might go with sophos...
:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: DON'T USE that anti-virus !!! It's the worse i've ever tested.
I had that on the company i work for and i can assure you that clamv is better than that.
Simply the worse anti-virus application ever.
aka: Bruno Vaz

hMailServer-4.3.1-B253 + phpwebadmin + roundcubemail-0.1beta2.2 + clamwin-0.88.7

arvin8
New user
New user
Posts: 17
Joined: 2008-10-12 01:55

Re: HOWTO: Using Kaspersky AV 7 with hMailServer

Post by arvin8 » 2008-12-03 20:08

I want to say that I've tested this batch file method and it works perfectly.

People say that it's not working because the normal KAV edition is not compatitable with 2003 server.
(so it's not the batch, it's KAV that is not working)

Instead of the normal desktop edition, you have to use KAV for Server.
And use the told batch file to integrate the KAV's command line scanner to hmail.

But, there is only one downside:
it's not possible to keep a log from inside the KAV.
(nothing shows in KAV that a virus is processed)

amr123
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 50
Joined: 2006-02-24 00:55
Contact:

Re: HOWTO: Using Kaspersky AV 7 with hMailServer

Post by amr123 » 2009-11-02 16:32

Hello Every Body ,

i'll try it , and suppose it works ,
i'm running win 2003 R2 with KAV 6 for file servers (file anti virus only)
i have a question here
should i exclude the folder of Hmail from the kasper , i mean let kasper not to monitor the hmail folder on the server

is there any way that i can test


thanks ,
i wish to hear from you soon

User avatar
mattg
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 20782
Joined: 2007-06-14 05:12
Location: 'The Outback' Australia

Re: HOWTO: Using Kaspersky AV 7 with hMailServer

Post by mattg » 2009-11-03 01:50

amr123 wrote:should i exclude the folder of Hmail from the kasper , i mean let kasper not to monitor the hmail folder on the server
Yes
Just 'cause I link to a page and say little else doesn't mean I am not being nice.
https://www.hmailserver.com/documentation

amr123
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 50
Joined: 2006-02-24 00:55
Contact:

Re: HOWTO: Using Kaspersky AV 7 with hMailServer

Post by amr123 » 2009-11-05 11:04

mattg wrote:
amr123 wrote:should i exclude the folder of Hmail from the kasper , i mean let kasper not to monitor the hmail folder on the server
Yes

thank you ,
but in fact i removed it , it takes to much from the CPU , i found the CPU usually about 40 % to 60% , once i removed it the CPU return normal
do you have any recommendation for a free or open source one

thanks again

^DooM^
Site Admin
Posts: 13861
Joined: 2005-07-29 16:18
Location: UK

Re: HOWTO: Using Kaspersky AV 7 with hMailServer

Post by ^DooM^ » 2009-11-05 11:21

ClamAV
If at first you don't succeed, bomb disposal probably isn't for you! ヅ

amr123
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 50
Joined: 2006-02-24 00:55
Contact:

Re: HOWTO: Using Kaspersky AV 7 with hMailServer

Post by amr123 » 2009-11-09 11:26

^DooM^ wrote:ClamAV

Thanks Doom , i'm already using it , but i have problems with zipped files , calm av usually pass the attachments that contain archived files , even if it is not password protected ?

that is why i thought to have an external scanner to increase the security

any ideas ?

^DooM^
Site Admin
Posts: 13861
Joined: 2005-07-29 16:18
Location: UK

Re: HOWTO: Using Kaspersky AV 7 with hMailServer

Post by ^DooM^ » 2009-11-09 12:41

If memory serves there is a config option about what to do with Zipped files.
If at first you don't succeed, bomb disposal probably isn't for you! ヅ

amr123
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 50
Joined: 2006-02-24 00:55
Contact:

Re: HOWTO: Using Kaspersky AV 7 with hMailServer

Post by amr123 » 2009-11-09 14:24

^DooM^ wrote:If memory serves there is a config option about what to do with Zipped files.

Excuse me Doom , i do not understand what do you mean ?

^DooM^
Site Admin
Posts: 13861
Joined: 2005-07-29 16:18
Location: UK

Re: HOWTO: Using Kaspersky AV 7 with hMailServer

Post by ^DooM^ » 2009-11-09 14:43

ClamAV has a config file where you can change options. In there I believe are options that deal with zipped files.
If at first you don't succeed, bomb disposal probably isn't for you! ヅ

amr123
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 50
Joined: 2006-02-24 00:55
Contact:

Re: HOWTO: Using Kaspersky AV 7 with hMailServer

Post by amr123 » 2009-11-09 15:49

^DooM^ wrote:ClamAV has a config file where you can change options. In there I believe are options that deal with zipped files.

yaa , i got what you mean , now
but i already configured clam win but it also skip some files ,
i think it is a matter of signatures


any way , thanks for your help

^DooM^
Site Admin
Posts: 13861
Joined: 2005-07-29 16:18
Location: UK

Re: HOWTO: Using Kaspersky AV 7 with hMailServer

Post by ^DooM^ » 2009-11-09 15:50

Wait, you just said Clamwin. ClamAV and ClamWin are different.
If at first you don't succeed, bomb disposal probably isn't for you! ヅ

westdam
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 728
Joined: 2006-08-01 21:24
Location: Padova, Italy
Contact:

Re: HOWTO: Using Kaspersky AV 7 with hMailServer

Post by westdam » 2009-11-12 18:17

if you're using clamwin try to set up a "c:\tmp" folder and let me know if it works..
clamwin scan zipped archives by default

westdam
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 728
Joined: 2006-08-01 21:24
Location: Padova, Italy
Contact:

Re: HOWTO: Using Kaspersky AV 7 with hMailServer

Post by westdam » 2009-11-12 18:18

i suggest also what NOT to use..
comodo.
dont use comodo at all..

mattfox27
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 69
Joined: 2009-11-26 01:00

Re: HOWTO: Using Kaspersky AV 7 with hMailServer

Post by mattfox27 » 2010-10-12 06:43

I have this setup and it works using Win2k3 server with KAV6 for servers but it does not notify the recipient when a virus is found. the box is checked in settings i ran the KAV test virus through and it deleted it, which is what i set it to do but no notification to recipient, i selected notify recipient in Hmail....any ideas?


On a side note i run Kaspersky on my work network and i like it very much i have never really had a problem with it and the one thing i like most is that from my experience it actually uses less system resources than most other virus scanners out there. I have been with KAV for about 5 years and am very happy with them.

mattfox27
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 69
Joined: 2009-11-26 01:00

Re: HOWTO: Using Kaspersky AV 7 with hMailServer

Post by mattfox27 » 2010-10-12 06:54

Fixed it...

You have to set the return value to 0 instead of 1 then it deletes message and notifies recipient.

mattfox27
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 69
Joined: 2009-11-26 01:00

Re: HOWTO: Using Kaspersky AV 7 with hMailServer

Post by mattfox27 » 2010-10-15 02:35

I was wrong by setting it to 0 all messages are flagged as having a virus. Any ideas on how to make this work and still send notifications that a virus was found?

zosephina
New user
New user
Posts: 1
Joined: 2011-01-11 07:58

Re: HOWTO: Using Kaspersky AV 7 with hMailServer

Post by zosephina » 2011-01-11 11:54

How do I configure Kaspersky Internet security with WoW? I have kaspersky internet security. When I go to download a WoW patch it shuts it down and says INSTALLER.EXE placed in low restricted. Without disabling Kaspersky and putting my internet security at risk how do I avoid Kaspersky from stopping the patch. I already have it configured so that all blizzard programs are trusted yet I still have this problem. Thanks.
affiliateelite

User avatar
tBB
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 268
Joined: 2009-04-17 18:10
Location: The land of Beer and Sauerkraut!
Contact:

Re: HOWTO: Using Kaspersky AV 7 with hMailServer

Post by tBB » 2011-01-11 12:36

zosephina wrote:How do I configure Kaspersky Internet security with WoW? I have kaspersky internet security. When I go to download a WoW patch it shuts it down and says INSTALLER.EXE placed in low restricted. Without disabling Kaspersky and putting my internet security at risk how do I avoid Kaspersky from stopping the patch. I already have it configured so that all blizzard programs are trusted yet I still have this problem. Thanks.
:shock: This is a mailserver forum. Head over to http://forum.kaspersky.com/index.php?s= ... howforum=4 and post your question there.

Best regards,

Nico

Locked