hmail and my local rbl

Use this forum if you have installed hMailServer and want to ask a question related to a production release of hMailServer. Before posting, please read the troubleshooting guide. A large part of all reported issues are already described in detail here.
Post Reply
Cyberslog
New user
New user
Posts: 7
Joined: 2022-01-14 18:15

hmail and my local rbl

Post by Cyberslog » 2022-01-14 18:31

I was successful in getting hmail setup and running, hosting 5 domains. I have hmail using 4 rbls and 1 surbl. And am adding in my own rbl. Hmail is running on Win10 Pro. From the Hmail system I can do a nslookup to my rbl and get the correct response codes. But Hmail refuses to talk to it. I have temporarily shutdown firewalls in win10, with no change, added my rbl to host file. Keep in mid Hmail can talk to spamhaus, spamcop, sorbs, and mailspike as well as surbl no problems. just not my own rbl, any suggestions?

mikedibella
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 690
Joined: 2016-12-08 02:21

Re: hmail and my local rbl

Post by mikedibella » 2022-01-14 19:00

is the responder on the same host as HMS, if so what IP are you using for comms? Loopback or NIC-assigned? Is the local responder bound to all interfaces or just one?

Cyberslog
New user
New user
Posts: 7
Joined: 2022-01-14 18:15

Re: hmail and my local rbl

Post by Cyberslog » 2022-01-14 20:22

hmail is on its own ip(examples) x.y.35.170 the rbl is on a linux box(alma)192.168.0.100 behind its own router(port forwarded 53) on x.y.35.175(router address) everything is on nic assigned ips, no dhcp.

User avatar
SorenR
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 5092
Joined: 2006-08-21 15:38
Location: Denmark

Re: hmail and my local rbl

Post by SorenR » 2022-01-14 20:35

Cyberslog wrote:
2022-01-14 20:22
hmail is on its own ips(examples) x.y.35.170 the rbl is on a linux box(alma)192.168.0.100 behind its own router(port forwarded 53) on x.y.35.175(router address) everything is on nic assigned ips, no dhcp.
UDP or TCP ?? Yes, both are valid but DNS is more often UDP than TCP. We have seen Windows API having issues with DNS on TCP.
SørenR.

There are only two difficult problems in computer science: naming things, cache invalidation and off-by-one errors.

Cyberslog
New user
New user
Posts: 7
Joined: 2022-01-14 18:15

Re: hmail and my local rbl

Post by Cyberslog » 2022-01-14 20:47

UDP, I don't believe rbldnsd supports TCP, Now the thought about windows api......messing up.....hmmm

mikedibella
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 690
Joined: 2016-12-08 02:21

Re: hmail and my local rbl

Post by mikedibella » 2022-01-14 21:25

can you successfully query the RBL responder from the HMS machine using NSLOOKUP?

Cyberslog
New user
New user
Posts: 7
Joined: 2022-01-14 18:15

Re: hmail and my local rbl

Post by Cyberslog » 2022-01-14 21:29

yes nslookup queries fine

User avatar
SorenR
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 5092
Joined: 2006-08-21 15:38
Location: Denmark

Re: hmail and my local rbl

Post by SorenR » 2022-01-14 22:35

Cyberslog wrote:
2022-01-14 20:47
UDP, I don't believe rbldnsd supports TCP, Now the thought about windows api......messing up.....hmmm
NSLOOKUP will query direct, Windows API will use DNS cache (unless you stop the service).
SørenR.

There are only two difficult problems in computer science: naming things, cache invalidation and off-by-one errors.

mikedibella
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 690
Joined: 2016-12-08 02:21

Re: hmail and my local rbl

Post by mikedibella » 2022-01-14 23:24

Another point:

HMS uses the "DNS Host" field as the suffix of the query, not as the target of the resolver. The responders your HMS host are configured to use must have a stub zone or conditional forwarder to route the queries for the "DNS Host" zone to your RBL responder.

Cyberslog
New user
New user
Posts: 7
Joined: 2022-01-14 18:15

Re: hmail and my local rbl

Post by Cyberslog » 2022-01-14 23:46

do you have an Ip you would like me setup in my rbl to test? asarsrbl.vistastorm.com is the rbl. I also disable my dns cache and rebooted - no change. On a side note DNS Client in my services now says startup type Disabled but status says its "running"....how?
Last edited by Cyberslog on 2022-01-14 23:56, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
SorenR
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 5092
Joined: 2006-08-21 15:38
Location: Denmark

Re: hmail and my local rbl

Post by SorenR » 2022-01-14 23:54

nslookup 1.0.0.127.asarsrbl.vistastorm.com = ??

Positive = ??

Negative = Non-existing
SørenR.

There are only two difficult problems in computer science: naming things, cache invalidation and off-by-one errors.

Cyberslog
New user
New user
Posts: 7
Joined: 2022-01-14 18:15

Re: hmail and my local rbl

Post by Cyberslog » 2022-01-15 00:00

I added 127.0.0.1 and now get a 127.0.0.2 responce to 1.0.0.127.asarsrbl.vistastorm.com with nslookup, now when I use nslookup I do use server asarsrbl.vistastorm.com I am guessing maybe I need to add that to my dns in somewhere......I think we are getting warmer.....to that term conditional forwarder

mikedibella
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 690
Joined: 2016-12-08 02:21

Re: hmail and my local rbl

Post by mikedibella » 2022-01-15 00:11

what implementation are you running for DNS responders used by the HMS host? bind?
zone "my.rbl.zone" {
type forward;
forward only;
forwarders { 192.168.0.100; };
};

Cyberslog
New user
New user
Posts: 7
Joined: 2022-01-14 18:15

Re: hmail and my local rbl

Post by Cyberslog » 2022-01-15 03:26

went out and grabbed technitium and set it up for local only 127.0.0.1, added my regular dns servers to it, configured my primary zone and the rbl as a forwarder and lo and behold the rbl came to life.
Finally say bye-bye to some spammers....thanks so much! :D

Post Reply