HOW TO run Clamwin and have a ClamAV system SERVICE

This section contains user-submitted tutorials.
Gordonh1970
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 42
Joined: 2016-01-29 13:50
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: HOW TO run Clamwin and have a ClamAV system SERVICE

Post by Gordonh1970 » 2018-10-30 14:13

vortexofhate wrote:
2018-10-13 00:49
I have everything set up and it is working. I went to go change the definitions to use sanesecurity and they require rsync and recommend using cwRsync, well they no longer offer a free version by the looks of it so I was wondering if anyone had a recommended rysnc version to use?
I'm interested to see if anyone knows if there is an alternative to rsync that works with sanesecurity?
Or does anyone have the download from the old free version available at all?

Gordonh1970
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 42
Joined: 2016-01-29 13:50
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: HOW TO run Clamwin and have a ClamAV system SERVICE

Post by Gordonh1970 » 2018-10-30 14:52

Gordonh1970 wrote:
2018-10-30 14:13
vortexofhate wrote:
2018-10-13 00:49
I have everything set up and it is working. I went to go change the definitions to use sanesecurity and they require rsync and recommend using cwRsync, well they no longer offer a free version by the looks of it so I was wondering if anyone had a recommended rysnc version to use?
I'm interested to see if anyone knows if there is an alternative to rsync that works with sanesecurity?
Or does anyone have the download from the old free version available at all?
Never mind, I should have waited another hour before posting
I found a free version of rsync for windows at cnet.com https://download.cnet.com/cwRsync/3000- ... 65181.html
Seems as if I have it all setup and running again :D

User avatar
RvdH
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 931
Joined: 2008-06-27 14:42
Location: Netherlands

Re: HOW TO run Clamwin and have a ClamAV system SERVICE

Post by RvdH » 2018-11-09 21:43

CIDR to RegEx: d-fault.nl/CIDRtoRegEx
DNS Lookup: d-fault.nl/DNSTools
DNSBL Lookup: d-fault.nl/DNSBLLookup
GEOIP Lookup: d-fault.nl/GeoipLookup

ricain
New user
New user
Posts: 25
Joined: 2014-11-12 21:37

Re: HOW TO run Clamwin and have a ClamAV system SERVICE

Post by ricain » 2019-10-04 22:36

Thanks for tutorial save my server with the service ;)

MarHMS
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 116
Joined: 2015-12-11 17:10

Re: HOW TO run Clamwin and have a ClamAV system SERVICE

Post by MarHMS » 2019-10-27 05:02

I'm assuming Clamwin is no longer being updated. We are unable to update ClamAV to 0.101.4.

User avatar
jimimaseye
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8364
Joined: 2011-09-08 17:48

Re: HOW TO run Clamwin and have a ClamAV system SERVICE

Post by jimimaseye » 2019-10-27 08:45

MarHMS wrote:
2019-10-27 05:02
I'm assuming Clamwin is no longer being updated. We are unable to update ClamAV to 0.101.4.
You may post and ask on the clamwin forum or send an email to gianluigi (from netfarms). I last asked thus:
On 05/10/2018 11:13 PM, Jimimaseye wrote:

Hi Gianluigi

Our last conversation was about the possiblity of you updating the Clamwin offerings (as found on the Clamwin website) in line with your compilation/port of Clamav to your windows version (as found at http://oss.netfarm.it/clamav).  At the time (as you can see below) wou were waiting for version 0.100.0 to be released and as such I waited.

Unfortunately, although you have now compiled 0.100.0, the Clamwin port is now offering only 0.99.4 (offered in March).

I use both versions on our mail server to give a multithreaded service using CLAMD.exe (as provided by you) in conjunction with Clamwin front end and relies on the same versions.  Unfortunately the Clamwin versino is (once again) behind.

May I ask if either:

a,  in your repository you still have win32 (VS 2005 32bit build) of version 0.99.4 (clamav-win32-0.99.4.7z) OR
b,  would you be able to port/upgrade the official build of Clamwin (as found at https://sourceforge.net/projects/clamwin/files/clamwin/  ) to 0.100.0 ?


 11 May 2018 14:55:45 BST, Gianluigi Tiesi <sherpya@netfarm.it> replied :

Hi, you can pick old versions here:
http://oss.netfarm.it/clamav/files/old/ ... -0.99.4.7z
http://oss.netfarm.it/clamav/files/old/ ... -0.99.4.7z
http://oss.netfarm.it/clamav/files/old/ ... -0.99.4.7z

I make clamav builds used in clamwin but the project is still ruled by Alex, I'll ask him to make the new rel

Regards

--
Gianluigi Tiesi <sherpya@netfarm.it>
EDP Project Leader
Netfarm
I think "Alex" is 'Alch' on the clamwin forum/project.
[Entered by mobile. Excuse my spelling.]
5.7 on test.
SpamassassinForWindows 3.4.0 spamd service
AV: Clamwin + Clamd service + sanesecurity defs : https://www.hmailserver.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=26829

User avatar
jimimaseye
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8364
Joined: 2011-09-08 17:48

Re: HOW TO run Clamwin and have a ClamAV system SERVICE

Post by jimimaseye » 2020-01-02 14:24

5.7 on test.
SpamassassinForWindows 3.4.0 spamd service
AV: Clamwin + Clamd service + sanesecurity defs : https://www.hmailserver.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=26829

vortexofhate
New user
New user
Posts: 13
Joined: 2014-09-17 20:23
Location: Corona, CA

Re: HOW TO run Clamwin and have a ClamAV system SERVICE

Post by vortexofhate » 2020-02-28 23:32

I was wondering if anyone has successfully installed v 0.102.1 x64?

I had the 0.99.4 installed but decided to update. I ended up uninstalling the software since I had the x86 version install so I was starting over from fresh. Every time I try to install the service I get the error of "The ordinal 210 could not be located in the dynamic link library E:|Program Files\ClamAV\clamd.exe"

Any suggestions?

I have tried uninstall and reinstalling again and it was not successful.

User avatar
jimimaseye
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8364
Joined: 2011-09-08 17:48

Re: HOW TO run Clamwin and have a ClamAV system SERVICE

Post by jimimaseye » 2020-02-28 23:35

You haven't used matching versions so it will not work. You need to match clamwin at 0.99.4.

[Entered by mobile. Excuse my spelling.]
5.7 on test.
SpamassassinForWindows 3.4.0 spamd service
AV: Clamwin + Clamd service + sanesecurity defs : https://www.hmailserver.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=26829

vortexofhate
New user
New user
Posts: 13
Joined: 2014-09-17 20:23
Location: Corona, CA

Re: HOW TO run Clamwin and have a ClamAV system SERVICE

Post by vortexofhate » 2020-02-29 00:02

Even though the oos.netfarm.it they have version 0.102.1 listed?

I download the 0.102.1 from https://www.clamav.net/. So I thought you could use those version together and it should function?

User avatar
jimimaseye
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8364
Joined: 2011-09-08 17:48

Re: HOW TO run Clamwin and have a ClamAV system SERVICE

Post by jimimaseye » 2020-02-29 00:49

No. That is not clamwin version. Clamwin version is found on clamwin website. Netfarm does not have clamwin.

I'm afraid deviation from my guide would results in problems (as you are now finding).

[Entered by mobile. Excuse my spelling.]
5.7 on test.
SpamassassinForWindows 3.4.0 spamd service
AV: Clamwin + Clamd service + sanesecurity defs : https://www.hmailserver.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=26829

Post Reply