Multiplatform (Linux)

Use this forum if you want to suggest a new feature to hMailServer. Before posting, please search the forum to confirm that it has not already been suggested.
DigDug
New user
New user

Multiplatform (Linux)

Post by DigDug » 2020-12-04 19:54

I donated a small amount since I use hMailServer for my mail server on my Windows VPS.

I'm, however, planning to move my stuff to my Raspberry Pi 400 server, but I found out that hMailServer is only available for Windows.

Why not use a cross-platform HTML interface (only on localhost or internal network IP's)? The WinForms interface can then be retired.

Also, I was surprised to find that hMailServer is written in C++. Looking at the UI I believed it to have been written in C#. I'm a C++ and C# developer by trade, but feel more comfortable with a mail server written in C# because of the automatic memory management.

SorenR
Senior user
Senior user

Re: Multiplatform (Linux)

Post by SorenR » 2020-12-04 23:59

DigDug wrote:
2020-12-04 19:54
I donated a small amount since I use hMailServer for my mail server on my Windows VPS.

I'm, however, planning to move my stuff to my Raspberry Pi 400 server, but I found out that hMailServer is only available for Windows.

Why not use a cross-platform HTML interface (only on localhost or internal network IP's)? The WinForms interface can then be retired.

Also, I was surprised to find that hMailServer is written in C++. Looking at the UI I believed it to have been written in C#. I'm a C++ and C# developer by trade, but feel more comfortable with a mail server written in C# because of the automatic memory management.
So... Do you also give your mom a big bag of laundry to do because you are more comfortable with her color separation skills ??