hMailServer Deleted Files DB Updater

This section contains scripts that hMailServer has contributed with. hMailServer 4 is needed to use these.
este
New user
New user

hMailServer Deleted Files DB Updater

Post by este » 2010-10-13 14:20

Hi,
I am not a developer so you can correct everything i say here!
But i needed to correct a problem on my web server and i asked some help to a developer friend who wrote this script for me (he did not know hmailserver and vbscript at all, so there must be better ways to do it).

I needed to check whether a deleted EML file in the /hMailServer/Data folder was still recorded in hMailServer DB: if it was still there, I wanted to delete this useless record, to keep the DB updated and consistent.
So the script simply updates the DB by deleting records to files that do no exist anymore (files that were manually deleted for some reason/mistake or deleted by an antivirus, which is the main reason i wanted to do this).

You can save the script on a .vbs file and run it from a command line by symply typing: cscript myscript.vbs

This script was only tested with hMailServer 4.4.1 B273 (on Windows Server 2008).
Since we did not know on what hMailServer event run it, I just added it on the Windows Task manager (it runs every hour). No external antivirus is set, but only the Kaspersky resident protection.
sub log(logfile, message)
wscript.echo(message)
logfile.writeLine(message)
end sub

'declare the variables
Dim ConnectionString
Dim Recordset
Dim SQL
Dim cn

set objFSO = CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")
set LogFile = objfso.opentextfile("mail-check.log",2,True)

'declare the SQL statement that will query the database
SQL = "SELECT MESSAGEID, MESSAGEFILENAME FROM HM_MESSAGES"

'define the connection string, specify database driver
set cn = CreateObject("ADODB.Connection")
set Recordset = CreateObject("ADODB.Recordset")