hMailServer 5.0, build 278 (Alpha)

Use this forum if you want to discuss a problem or ask a question related to a hMailServer beta release.
Post Reply
User avatar
martin
Developer
Developer
Posts: 6834
Joined: 2003-11-21 01:09
Location: Sweden
Contact:

hMailServer 5.0, build 278 (Alpha)

Post by martin » 2007-11-29 13:47

A new 5.0 alpha is now available:
http://download.hmailserver.com/dev/hMa ... 0-B278.exe

This build can only be used for testing purposes, and you should absolutely not upgrade an existing production installation to this build.

The following changes have been made:
  • The event log file now include Unicode-markers. This should resolve the problem with it sometimes being displayed incorrectly when opening it.
  • It's now possible to make modifications to an email in script events. Previously, an error was logged if trying to do this.
  • In previous builds, hMailServer where sometimes unable to detect clients IP address.
Last edited by martin on 2007-12-02 22:08, edited 2 times in total.

GlenC
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 680
Joined: 2004-08-17 23:31
Location: Santiago, Chile

Post by GlenC » 2007-11-29 15:17

Thanks Martin!
Greylisting now works
Integrated SA now functioning
Connecting IP adddresses now reporting corectly

Since I moved to integrated SA I´m not using Eventhandlers at the moment. This weekend I'll give that a try to see how the eventlog writing goes, but I suspect it is probably fine now too.

Jeinhor
Normal user
Normal user
Posts: 179
Joined: 2007-02-13 23:19

Post by Jeinhor » 2007-11-29 15:41

Why are you writing "build 258" when the .exe says "[...]-B278.exe"?

Just curious

EDIT: Just a thought, nothing important, but: everytime I install a new build the installer adds the shortcuts to the start menu (which I then remove every time). In other installers there are usually a option not to create start menu items. Maybe you can add it if it's just a boolean-option in the setup project?

User avatar
katip
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 732
Joined: 2006-12-22 07:58
Location: Istanbul

Post by katip » 2007-11-29 19:34

Hi Martin,
remote admin installation complains about missing libeay32.dll and ssleay32.dll
hence the error i described here: http://www.hmailserver.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=11026
putting both files to hmail program folder solved the problem. fyi

BTW what about SSL? i couldn't make it work.

GlenC
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 680
Joined: 2004-08-17 23:31
Location: Santiago, Chile

Post by GlenC » 2007-11-30 01:00

Martin,
I know you said there were issues with SSL. Just want to relate my experiences and offer up my log files if you think they might help. What I'm seeing (from Thunderbird's perspective) is an error telling me that connections could not be opened (after the initial Inbox connection). It suggests lowering the cached connections. I lowered it from 5 to 2 and that seemed to work for a while. Today however, for some reason, 2 is not good enough anymore and it refuses any additional connections. TThis only occurs (so far) with SSL connections. Also, I'm not sure if it is related or not but, I have about 20 messages sitting in a new folder called "Problematic Messages".

Let me know if you need additional info or logs or anything.

User avatar
katip
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 732
Joined: 2006-12-22 07:58
Location: Istanbul

Post by katip » 2007-11-30 21:43

Trying to add new TCP/IP Ports by remote admin ends with "Run-time error 380. Invalid property value" error. xp-pro sp2 en. FYI

User avatar
martin
Developer
Developer
Posts: 6834
Joined: 2003-11-21 01:09
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by martin » 2007-12-02 22:07

Jeinhor, spelling error, fixed it. I've added a checkbox to the next build so that you can skip creation of start menu groups.

Katip, Did you specify a port number when you added a TCP/IP port? I've changed the software so you'll be required to enter a port number it in the next build.

GlenC, with "issues" I meant "incomplete implementation". The next build will contain some fixes which should resolve the issue with Thunderbird, among other things. (The error message you got in thunderbird didn't have anything to do with the actual error. That's some kind of default error message in thunderbird). If you could zip the contents of the Problematic messages folder and send it to me at martin@hmailserver.com, it would be interesting to see.

GlenC
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 680
Joined: 2004-08-17 23:31
Location: Santiago, Chile

Post by GlenC » 2007-12-02 23:30

Well, amazingly the next day all but one message vanished. I have no idea where they went or how they went there. Since then, I have discovered about 20 or so messages left undelivered in the Data folder. I'm pretty sure they aren't the same messages though. These messages are all Hotmail messages that were pulled through a program called Hotpop. Hmail then pulls them in through the pop fetcher. I'll zip a few of those up too so you can look at them. The very first header line seems to be corrupted... you'll see right away. I'll send those now.

User avatar
martin
Developer
Developer
Posts: 6834
Joined: 2003-11-21 01:09
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by martin » 2007-12-03 00:11

It could very well be related to that first line in the header. I saw the same issue just a couple of minutes ago so I just fixed it. (hMailServer accesses memory in an invalid way). I put up an updated version of build 280 about 10 minutes ago which should resolve that problem.

I've started to add automatic testing of this and the SSL functionality now so it should hopefully stabilize soon. (I haven't had that before, which means I have to test it manually which is pretty time consuming..)

GlenC
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 680
Joined: 2004-08-17 23:31
Location: Santiago, Chile

Post by GlenC » 2007-12-03 00:46

I found build 279, I think that is the one you are referring to?

I was getting the memory errors too but they seemed random and I couldn't coincide them with any events in the log so I thought I would wait until I had better information to offer on those.

User avatar
martin
Developer
Developer
Posts: 6834
Joined: 2003-11-21 01:09
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by martin » 2007-12-03 00:53


GlenC
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 680
Joined: 2004-08-17 23:31
Location: Santiago, Chile

Post by GlenC » 2007-12-03 01:40

With build 279 it appears that the Hotmail/POP issue is resolved. Also I'm not seeing the cached connection issues anymore. I've raised them back up to the default 5 cached connection setting again.

User avatar
danny6167
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 472
Joined: 2007-02-07 15:24
Location: Western Australia
Contact:

Post by danny6167 » 2007-12-03 11:18

the hotmail/POP issue?

GlenC
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 680
Joined: 2004-08-17 23:31
Location: Santiago, Chile

Post by GlenC » 2007-12-03 13:40

danny6167 wrote:the hotmail/POP issue?
Well, that's the best way I could describe it. A program named Hotpop downloads messages from Hotmail and then makes them available to a POP client. I set up hMail to do that job. Those particular messages had a problem with the header, which Martin fixed in B279.

User avatar
danny6167
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 472
Joined: 2007-02-07 15:24
Location: Western Australia
Contact:

Post by danny6167 » 2007-12-03 15:34

ok. Does hotpop work with windows live atm. I used to use mr postman but that seems to be broken

GlenC
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 680
Joined: 2004-08-17 23:31
Location: Santiago, Chile

Post by GlenC » 2007-12-03 18:28

Well, I think so... I never made any changes at Hotmail but I think it is now Windows Live Mail... I never log in so I'm not for sure :)

User avatar
danny6167
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 472
Joined: 2007-02-07 15:24
Location: Western Australia
Contact:

Post by danny6167 » 2007-12-03 19:28

google doesn't like me today. got a link?

GlenC
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 680
Joined: 2004-08-17 23:31
Location: Santiago, Chile

Post by GlenC » 2007-12-03 20:07


Post Reply