How to run three or more instances of hMailServer/different fqdn in HELO. How to?

Use this forum if you have installed hMailServer and want to ask a question related to a production release of hMailServer. Before posting, please read the troubleshooting guide. A large part of all reported issues are already described in detail here.
Post Reply
Borizz.K
New user
New user
Posts: 5
Joined: 2018-08-07 13:26

How to run three or more instances of hMailServer/different fqdn in HELO. How to?

Post by Borizz.K » 2018-08-07 13:39

I have 3 domains.
I need to servicing mail for each domain on one virtual machine, bind each domain to a different ip-adressess and each domain used a personal fqdn in HELO when sending messages to outside world.
May be to run 3 instances of hmailserver?
How to?

ThanX

User avatar
jimimaseye
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8584
Joined: 2011-09-08 17:48

Re: How to run three or more instances of hMailServer/different fqdn in HELO. How to?

Post by jimimaseye » 2018-08-07 17:38

Nope.

You may do as all the mainstream mail providers do and have a single no-personalised host/ip address for SMTP with all PTR etc records pointing to this independant address. (ie even site hosted by Gmail still have 'google' addresses as their address).

If you require 3 instances of Hmailserver because the above is for some reason not suitable then you will need 3 separate VM's running (or a different choice of software).
5.7 on test.
SpamassassinForWindows 3.4.0 spamd service
AV: Clamwin + Clamd service + sanesecurity defs : https://www.hmailserver.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=26829

Borizz.K
New user
New user
Posts: 5
Joined: 2018-08-07 13:26

Re: How to run three or more instances of hMailServer/different fqdn in HELO. How to?

Post by Borizz.K » 2018-08-07 21:19

Thanx

what free mail server for Windows can do this?

User avatar
RvdH
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 1078
Joined: 2008-06-27 14:42
Location: Netherlands

Re: How to run three or more instances of hMailServer/different fqdn in HELO. How to?

Post by RvdH » 2018-08-07 22:24

Why do you think you need that functionality/ability?

As long as PTR and all in place and correct it doesn't matter how the server identifies itself.
I usually make simply make CNAME records to mail.something.com to mail.realdeal.com
CIDR to RegEx: d-fault.nl/CIDRtoRegEx
DNS Lookup: d-fault.nl/DNSTools
DNSBL Lookup: d-fault.nl/DNSBLLookup
GEOIP Lookup: d-fault.nl/GeoipLookup

User avatar
SorenR
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 3576
Joined: 2006-08-21 15:38
Location: Denmark

Re: How to run three or more instances of hMailServer/different fqdn in HELO. How to?

Post by SorenR » 2018-08-07 22:40

RvdH wrote:
2018-08-07 22:24
Why do you think you need that functionality/ability?

As long as PTR and all in place and correct it doesn't matter how the server identifies itself.
I usually make simply make CNAME records to mail.something.com to mail.realdeal.com
Because when one is SPAMlisted, the others are too... You have to get your black hat on when looking at some of these questions.

Either ppl don't know better or they have a different agenda :mrgreen:

Everyone is born good, bad is an acquired skill :twisted:
SørenR.

“Those who don't know history are doomed to repeat it.”
― Edmund Burke

User avatar
jimimaseye
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8584
Joined: 2011-09-08 17:48

Re: How to run three or more instances of hMailServer/different fqdn in HELO. How to?

Post by jimimaseye » 2018-08-07 22:59

You dont only need 3 instances for that - 'blacklisting' will affect all 3 instances if they are still behind the same public IP address.
5.7 on test.
SpamassassinForWindows 3.4.0 spamd service
AV: Clamwin + Clamd service + sanesecurity defs : https://www.hmailserver.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=26829

User avatar
mattg
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 20837
Joined: 2007-06-14 05:12
Location: 'The Outback' Australia

Re: How to run three or more instances of hMailServer/different fqdn in HELO. How to?

Post by mattg » 2018-08-07 23:34

SorenR wrote:
2018-08-07 22:40
Everyone is born good, bad is an acquired skill :twisted:
I think that is a skill that I have to learn...

I'm sure that I'd make more money
Just 'cause I link to a page and say little else doesn't mean I am not being nice.
https://www.hmailserver.com/documentation

User avatar
SorenR
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 3576
Joined: 2006-08-21 15:38
Location: Denmark

Re: How to run three or more instances of hMailServer/different fqdn in HELO. How to?

Post by SorenR » 2018-08-07 23:37

mattg wrote:
2018-08-07 23:34
SorenR wrote:
2018-08-07 22:40
Everyone is born good, bad is an acquired skill :twisted:
I think that is a skill that I have to learn...

I'm sure that I'd make more money
Not only that, you'll have more fun doing it :twisted:
SørenR.

“Those who don't know history are doomed to repeat it.”
― Edmund Burke

palinka
Senior user
Senior user
Posts: 1942
Joined: 2017-09-12 17:57

Re: How to run three or more instances of hMailServer/different fqdn in HELO. How to?

Post by palinka » 2018-08-08 01:22

SorenR wrote:
2018-08-07 22:40
Everyone is born good, bad is an acquired skill :twisted:
Oh! That's not true at all! And that's all I have to say about the matter on this forum.

U-351
New user
New user
Posts: 11
Joined: 2014-11-13 15:13

Re: How to run three or more instances of hMailServer/different fqdn in HELO. How to?

Post by U-351 » 2018-08-13 06:31

I have 3 working domain on 1 hmail instance.
Sewrver's A-record point to 1 IP
Each domain has MX record pointing to server's FQDN.
Server's FQDN has 1 PTR pointing to 1 server's IP.

3 instanse of hmail NOT NEEDed!!!
3 IP of hmail NOT NEEDed!!!

EXAMPLE RECORDS FOR DOMAINs:
servers.com:
mail A 123.1.2.3

domain1.com:
@ MX 10 mail.servers.com.
domain2.com:
@ MX 10 mail.servers.com.
domain3.com:
@ MX 10 mail.servers.com.


hMAil HELO String: "mail.servers.com".

Thats all! All working good!

Post Reply