I need some advice to improve my hMailServer performance

Use this forum if you have installed hMailServer and want to ask a question related to a production release of hMailServer. Before posting, please read the troubleshooting guide. A large part of all reported issues are already described in detail here.
yoni5002
Normal user
Normal user

I need some advice to improve my hMailServer performance

Post by yoni5002 » 2012-05-23 04:27

Hello guys,

First let me say that I love this soon-to-be open source application once again :)

I'm running few instances of hMailServer 5.3.3 - Build 1879 in production and I've been using hMailServer for at least 2-3 years now. I would like, if possible, to hear how you guys have it setup to get better performance out of it. I've been basically forced to drop hMailServer and replace them with Ubuntu instances in a couple locations. The main reason being performance... hMailServers (2GB RAM 2CPUs 3.2GHz in a RAID10 array) are incapable of keeping up with the load for not more than 25 clients. I run Roundcube as front-end webmail in a separate webserver box and my hMailServers are completely dedicated to do the back-end work. I don't have indexing enabled and from what I've read in the board my configuration is pretty much optimized. The main slow down comes from queries (searches) from Roundcube. Searching for e-mails in a folder with no more than 3000 e-mails takes a good 3-4 seconds to give me a result and the server's CPUs spikes to 50-60% ... this ain't terribly bad when there is just a single employee on the Webmail. Now, when I have a couple of users syncing IMAP accounts in their client application and few others (10-15) using the Webmail, hMailserver slows down noticeably. Searches will take 20+ seconds to return results and the CPU load in the system tops the 100%... obviously slowing down every other transaction in my servers. These are all VMs hMailservers by the way. What saddens me the most is that Ubuntu VMs with half